1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which 42" Plasma TV ????

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Yorkieblade, Nov 8, 2004.

  1. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,
    My better half has decided to use our hard earnt and re-do the lounge as part of the deal I have persuaded her that we need a 42" wall hung Plasma TV :) . I am totally at a loss which one will be for us . Below I have listed a few bullet points that will assist in which one I need. Does anyone have any ideas please:-

    . Price range 1000 - 2000 pounds (give or take a couple of hundred)

    . Wall mounted on a studded wall, must included wall mount bracket, but don't require tilt as I will mount at eye level.

    . extra cash for speakers not a prob - as I will be connecting it to my Kenwood KRF- V5050D Amp 5:1 + existing speakers- what lead required?

    .I want to connect it to my PC, do I need HDTV? I enjoy playing games over broadband so resolution needs to be pretty good. - what lead required?

    . I want to connect the kids PS2 - what lead required?

    . I want to connect our DVD player - what lead reuired?- I have an optical lead which goes between my Amp/DVD I presume this will just stay the same?

    . I need to connect Sky - what lead required?

    . We have a very poor aerial reception , so we put everything through sky at the moment , do I need a TV tuner or will Sky be ok? do most new Plasma's come with them now? , its not a problem if it does or not- seperate or built in.

    .I am not a hi-fi/TV buff but just want the best value for money option.Overall I want the best picture quality available for the money and that I can connect all the above, any information /advice would be greatly received.

    You can E- mail me if you like also with any help/Advice.

    Thanks
    Yorkie
     
  2. Johnnypanic

    Johnnypanic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    I personally can recommend both the Panasonic PW6 (or PW7) and av-sales.

    Av-sales will be able to provide you with excellent advice and be able to supply the goods to you at a reasonable price.

    Private message Alastair Collie via this forum and he will ensure that you become a happy av-sales customer :thumbsup:

    Johnnypanic
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    1-2k budget..... PW6 it is then mate £1580 with i suggest an extra VGA board and perhaps the dual slot component and S-video boards (3 slots available for dofferent input boards....) DVD via component, PC via VGA, Sky by RGB>VGA box to VGA2, PS2 via S-video is its just for the kids so tou will want 2 VGA leads one for PC one for RGB>VGA box, 2 component RCA-BNC lead (dual slot boards are cBNC ends) if your DVD is not component then upgrade to a DMR-E55 DVD recorder £220 well worth it.... and you will need some good scarts and a PS2 S-video cable..... www.av-sales.co.uk can supply all this kit and offer incrediblke service and for peice of mind i suggest you take 2 years extra warranty 3 years total for the extras £199.......
     
  4. mabs

    mabs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    undefined Sorry to jump on the back of yorkieblades question but I felt it was the topic I wanted to talk about and this is my first post on a forum like this so please excuse me if my manners are not what they should be. (I'll learn as I go along.)

    I too am looking to buy a 42" plasma and have a touch more money to spend than yorkieblade.

    I'm wondering if I can draw on the advice of the experts on here because I'm kinda getting confused. I thought that the panny TH42PE30B would be the choice for myself as it had good reviews, BUT, it has no new digital input socket things (HDMI??? again excuse the lack of knowledge.) Now the hitachi 42pd5200 has one but no composite inputs. Now I believe the pioneer 434-hde has both but is a bit more than I want to pay.

    In short I am replacing my LG3520 all in one for a new DVD player, amp Cambridge audio Azur range), speakers and of course the plasma. I'm on a budget but want to future proof my purchase and also looking for quality. My new house is not built till next april but I want to be able to start saving now to get what I want.

    Do I need HDMI???? are the amp and the dvd player any good??? will your heads explode with all this information????

    I look forward to hear your replies and hope to keep you up to dat on my purchasing experiences.
    :confused:
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  6. mabs

    mabs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks horny dragon

    Yes I have been into Richer Sounds at the w/end. Wasn't convinced about his patter on the Hitachi but did like the look of the cambridge. I was looking for something that has prog scan and have DVD-A facilities. Also I know this sounds daft but they look really good and will fit in with the modern theme that the new house will have.

    Thank you for your advice so far and any more is greatly weclomed.
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Also consider Pioneer 575 DVD and personally a DMR-E55 DVDrecorder makes sense if you have Sky or cable and a PW6 (no 5.1 DVD-A tho) But pause live TV and timeshift....£220 Multiregion from AV-sales....where the PW6 is £1580!!!!!inc delivery and inpout board of choice...
     
  8. mabs

    mabs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers hornydragon

    I have sky+ so may not need the recorder. i am also quite anxious to get a DVD-A player because I think these will be more widespread as time goes on. After reading some magazines though SACD seems to be more flexible but since this is mainly a Sony idea i have the feeling it may suffer mini disc syndrome. (Good idea that never really takes off).

    Cheers again
     
  9. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Horny good info just got a few more questions:-

    . is the pw6 silver?

    . does it have speakers or not?

    . does it come with a wall mounting brkt?

    . does it have picture in picture - if so will it let me view my pc in a smaller picture while the family are watching DVD/Sky?

    . Where does this extra board sit?

    sorry total newbie great info on here.
    Yorkie
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    yorkieblade

    I have to say I'm not convinced an 852x480 SD Display is the best way to go if your into using the Display with your PC - I'd find it difficult to watch it for any length of time.

    I'd be looking to spend a bit more cash and go with a 1024x768 model from Pioneer or Panasonic instead.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  11. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Joe, Which panny does that resolution is it the Panasonic Viera TH42PE30wall Plasma ?
    John Lewis are price matching at the moment on this new viera
    sorry for being retarted complete novice mate
    Cheers Yorkie
     
  12. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    Yorkieblade

    Panasonic Consumer UK in its infinite wisdom don't see the advent of HD Video and the growth/convergence of PC's at home as good reason to offer anything but 852x480 across the entire 42" Consumer PlasmaTV or Plasma Display line up.

    Panasonic Business System UK offer both a 42" SD and HD unit - though you wont find the HD at JL; you'll need to talk to one of us smaller independent dealers :)

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  13. Dot Crawl

    Dot Crawl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still have yet read a duff review on the Hitachi 42PD5200, I think that's where I'm gonna stick my money.
     
  14. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right then how much for this lot then:-

    A Panny pw6 with :-

    An extra VGA board and perhaps the dual slot component and S-video boards (3 slots available for different input boards....) DVD via component, PC via VGA, Sky by RGB>VGA box to VGA2, PS2 via S-video is its just for the kids so tou will want 2 VGA leads one for PC one for RGB>VGA box, 2 component RCA-BNC lead (dual slot boards are cBNC ends)

    I know the Panny from av - sales is around 1580 QUID

    How much more for the boards and leads???

    Yorkie
     
  15. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    Yorkieblade

    01. TH-42PWD6BX vs. TH-42PHD7B:
    As before your looking at a 852x480 Display vs. a 1024x768 Display; though the extra pixels do add a fair bit to the purchase price.

    02. Connectivity:
    You can simplify your connectivity as follows -

    01. PS2 SCART (RGB) Out to SKY SCART (RGB) In
    02. SKY SCART (RGB) Out to JS Technology RGB2VGA Converter SCART (RGB) In
    03. JS Technology RGB2VGA Converter HD15 (RGBHV) Out to Plasma 5BNC (RGBHV) In
    04. DVD 3RCA (YUV) Out to Plasma 3BNC (YUV) In
    05. AV Receiver S-Video Out to Plasma S-Video In.
    06. PC HD15 (RGBHV) Out to Plasma HD15 (RGBHV) In

    You'll require the following accessories:
    1 x TY-42TM6AB YUV Component Board
    1 x TY-42TM6YB (Dual Slot) Combination Board
    1 x JS Technology RGB2VGA Converter
    1 x HD15 to 5BNC cable
    1 x 3RCA to 3BNC cable
    1 x PS2 SCART RGB cable
    1 x SCART Cable
    1 x S-Video cable
    1 x HD15 to HD15 cable

    The only drawback with the RGB2VGA converter is a lack of colour control in the Plasma RGBHV menu - you could just as easily consider the RGB2YUV converter; which will work with the Dual Slot Y Board using a 3RCA to 3BNC cable.

    Having two YUV sources may also mean if you update to a NEW AV Receiver at some point you'll be able to use YUV switching in the AV Receiver to simplify your set up.

    Please note the Dual Slot Combination board uses up TWO slots in the Display so can only be used in conjunction with ONE additional Single Slot board in a 42" Display.

    Quoting 'In Thread' is not allowed - if you PM me I can work out prices if you like.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  16. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Dot Crawl, the reason the Hitachi and other plasma TV's get such consistently good reviews, and the Panasonic PHD series, and Pioneer business models do not, is that the guys at the mags can get them up and running easily with no specialist kit, which they do not have. Just a scart lead gets them going, whereas they are probably stuck with composite from sky or cable if they have a business display. Thsi will always look poor. If you go to a specialist, the business models will always look better, as more can be done to improve them. Yes, they are not a 'TV' but to many this is an advantage, you build a home entertainment system around the panel, with a PC, DVD player, digital TV, consoles etc connected, an all in one remote control, and surround sound. No speakers on the plasma means no duplication of components, less confusion, assuming you'd want surround anyway, and no analogue tuner which will be turned off by the govt. in the lifetime of your system. The model Joe is suggesting is far and away the best type for this kind of system, the consumer ones are more troublesome with remote codes for all in ones, lack proper 'native resolution' PC inputs, have connectors we want to use on the front panels, (a real no no for wives usually!) leaving cables on display, and many other tiny detail drawbacks. They are of course a straight TV replacement, and will do everything your current set does, but frequently no more. We are preaching the future of home entertainment basically, come for the ride or get out your pipe and slippers.
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    But have you seen a good one?????
    I havent.... AND ITS not an HD DISPLAY its an ALIS Panel
    Have a search if you want to know more
     
  18. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Horny, the pw6 looks a good buy
    Have I missed something, where does my amp(5:1) connect in and by what means please?
    Thanks
    Yorkie
     
  19. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Sadly, your amp is not much use for this, it has only composite video switching, this will look very naff on the PW6. So I think a scart switch, and/or a component video switch will be needed, or you could maybe look for a 2ndhand iscan ultra, usefull signal processor and video hub. Kids bedtime beckons, I'll have a look at your connection possibilities unless Horny beats me to it.
     
  20. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you Maw much appreciated scratching head alot lol
     
  21. mabs

    mabs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi again
    I'm with Yorekie slightly in that I'm scatching my head l lot too. What is the difference between ALIS and HD? :eek:

    If I buy a PW6/7 and get the video board for connections can I get more than one for scart, s-vhs and componet?

    I really like the idea of having high definition in light of what sky has just said.

    I think i need a lie down now!!!!!
     
  22. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    Yorkieboy

    You have a PM.

    Joe
     
  23. gstadt

    gstadt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +10
    Joe

    what does 'PM' mean
     
  24. swarrans

    swarrans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    PM means Pre Menstrual.

    Alternatively it might mean he's sent you a personal message......
     
  25. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks all once again I have been reading loads of threads and I have had good advice from Joe + Horny Dragon + MAW.

    I am a few days down the line now of deciding what I need to get and I am on quite a tight time schedule as our new suite and carpet are due at the end of the month (nipping on!!)

    So here's where I am now (it changes hourly lol) please tell me if I am wrong:-

    The pw6 is around 1580 but available in black only + I will need extra boards etc.
    The pw7 is available in silver but around 2100

    To complicate matters or it might make things better I have been thinking of upgrading my amp to one that gives me more inputs and facilitys - this may help to cut down on cables going to the plasma yes?? I have checked out the Denon AVR-1705 - 250 quid(which has 2 x optical in + 1 coax in, + 3 component in + 1 component out, 3 x s-video in etc, but no scart) and the Pioneer VSX-C402 - 209 quid (same as above + 3 x scarts I believe).

    If I purchase one of the above amps would this help in less cables going up to the panny screen? I believe the Denon(6:1) is a better quality amp and does more than the pioneer(5:1), is this right?

    To add another twist her that must be obeyed likes the Viera TH-42PE30B and its stylish curves!!!(jury out here lol!!) - having read what is in a viera the 3 x scarts at the rear sounds useful but any good? The VGA is at the front I believe is this true ? and is there another way my PC can attatch to the viera without plugging in to the front??!!!!

    So thats where I am I hear JOE Fer - who tells me the higher res from the PC would be better on a HD model PQ, but I do have a budget like I say I would go a bit more if the Viera is worth it (I.E. JL price match around 2400) which u get freeview I believe and the chance of a free Panny DVD recorder if ur lucky at JL.

    The missus is pushing for the looks on the viera but is it gimmicky or is it fundamently a better PQ than the pw6/7's.

    Still scrathing head lol
    Thank you all once again , what do you all think??
    Yorkie
     
  26. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The missus must always be obeyed, but she can be persuaded by money, by subterfuge, and by ease of operation. The viera has no PC input round the back, it will be a cable on the screen, in the front, right in your face. No other way. It will also look mildly c**p, just the same as a PW6/7 in fact. To get a proper PC picture you need the HD models. They will also be better than a PW or a Viera with all video sources. A viera is actually fundamentally 'worse' than a PW or PHD panel for all the reasons gone into in this thread. It just looks sexy when switched off, and then only on a stand, it's quite noticeably thicker than all other plasmas, not quite so slick on the wall. Take her to see some at a proper place, one that will show her PC, DVD, digital TV on a hi def panel. Show her what a decent integrated system could be like, and I'm sure she will be converted.
     
  27. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks MAW which HD panny comes in Silver then?

    Yorkie

    (even more confused lol)
     
  28. Dot Crawl

    Dot Crawl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Every Mag review raves about the 42PD5200 and they always score really high on picture quality, which is what counts at the end of the day, even though the Hitachi probably does not use a conventional way of displaying the image.
    Trying to get a decent demo of any plasma is a shop is an impossibility, they all look ****. My mate has had an Hitachi for 6 months and he loves it, the best thing is he comes home, switches it on, grabs a beer, chills out and watches TELLY he is NOT loosing sleep that is an ALIS panel. I have chosen the Hitachi mainly cos it was a lot cheaper than the other screens I was looking at (yeah please don't bother posting a link to a Panny PW6 you've done that so many times already it's :boring: ) plus I have had a good look at the screen on my mates wall and it looks magic (even from the tuner). It looks like whatever you invest in there will be something that the screen will or won't do
    I have only been visiting this forum for a couple of weeks and it is quite obvious you have a personal beef with Hitachi, the second anyone mentions Hitachi :devil: :devil: :devil: pops up a couple of threads later with the standard it's NOT a.......reply.
    To be honest I only put in my original post on the thread to see how long it took you to chuck in your 5 bobs worth, thanks for coming through.
    Maybe you will have the last laugh and I will end up with a piece of junk on my wall, but when I do get it I hopefully will be spending my time watching and enjoying my Plasma and not spending my life typing on here.

    Cheers :cool: :hiya:
     
  29. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    hope u have more luck with your other half than mine it was viera or new wardrobe and shoes for her(god damn those expensive clothes shops) i just kinda quit whilst i was ahead(less agro)dont think u can go wrong with either sets
    both look mighty fine
     
  30. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know the feeling Rooney lol, but she is up for it now - its really down to me which screen we get but I really think it needs to be a silver model lol to keep her sweet , when I eventually get something sorted I will take some before and after photos and post them if I can decide which screen will do!!!!
    Yorkie
     

Share This Page

Loading...