• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Which 40 or 42 inch tv should i buy - i would much appreciate your help - Thanks!

MDickson

Standard Member
I have just started looking for a good but cheap tv. I would like it to be 40 or 42 inch.

The main use for the tv will be watching football, movies, the wii, and a few entertainment programmes, such as prison break and top gear. And therefore i believe plasma would be best (am i correct)

I am just beginning to get to grips with the jargon and which statistics to look out for.

I use sky sd and hve no hd dvd players/blu-ray or ps3's yet, but would look at buying them in the future, depending on funds.

The tv's that i fancy so far are the:
Samsung PS-42Q97HDX
Panasonic PH-42PX70
Panasonic PH42PZ70 (i really fancy the sound of this one - although this one is a little over budget)
or any other tv's that you can suggest as a better alternative.

If you could help with advice on this it would be much appreciated.

:)

MDickson

Standard Member
Cheers!

Think i will prob go for the PX70 - as it is cheaper - therefore i can treat myself to a good sound system for it.

Think i will avoid the samsungs as nobody even mentions them when considered against a panasonic.

Thanks for your help!

MDickson

Standard Member
Thanks for the replies!

I think the pioneer is just too expensive for myself - although it is probably the better tv of them all but i cant afford it :(

To: la gran siete
:lease: reply

Why should i choose the 42PH10 over the 42PX70?
I am finding it hard to find reviews on this set but you seem pretty convinced that it is better. Do you have one?
They are both priced similarly - although i can get the PX70 for slightly cheaper.
Also what is the difference between the 42PH10B, 42PH10BK, and 42PH10BS?