1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which 32" TV for best all-round viewing performance?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Stevez, Apr 12, 2004.

1. Stevez

Stevez

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been planning to buy a 32 inch widescreen TV for quite a while. However, despite the favourable reviews given to many sets (Philips, Panasonic, Sony, Toshiba etc) in various publications, it seems that every model on the market gets a severe kicking in these forums from some of the people who've actually bought them.

Great picture/sound performance for DVD playback will be a very important factor in deciding which model to go for. However the amount of time spent watching Sky and terrestrial TV in my household is far greater, so having a good picture from that source will also be extremely important.

I've been renting a 50Hz Philips 32 inch for nearly three years now, and have been really happy with the picture quality for both TV and DVD viewing. Can anyone tell me whether I should just expect the viewing quality of normal TV broadcast pictures to appear worse on a 100Hz set (as it would seem from looking at display models in action on the high street)? If so, would anyone care to recommend a really good all-round performer for both TV and DVD picture quality?

2. jaymac

jaymac

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +138
    Sony 32fx68 works fine for me both digital and dvd even tape especially if recorded from digital. Analogue can be a bit less satisfactory at times but I think that's partially down to these sets being set up for av input as opposed to rf . You should be able to set up to suit. Sound wise its very good built in sub helps but like most sets best pumped out to an amp. Hpe this helps

3. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1