1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which 32" LCD for Elonex Artisan MCE

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Aradian, Jul 11, 2005.

1. Aradian

Aradian

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having found the fount of all knowledge on matters audio-visual, I have been following a few threads on this site with interest but, it seems the more I read the more confusing it gets :confused: So any help/advice for a newb would be much appreciated. I'm new to this thing and I'm beginning to drown in an alphabet soup of acronyms (HDCP, i-DTV DVT-B RGB S-VID SOS!)

Basically, I'm looking for a decent LCD not larger than 32" to go with an Elonex Artisan LX MCE all-in-one affair for my living room. Also looking to leverage the functioanlity of my mac G4pb and wireless network to integrate everything into a central system.

My current set-up (if one can call it that) is an ancient ex-rental CRT 15" - don't know the make - and a long dead VHS. I do however have a NTL box but I'm looking to bin that. I don't/want Sky(+) and just watch freeview tv. I would hope to watch a few DVDs in the future though, and want the system to last a good long while.

The tv would have to reside in the corner for the time-being, so viewing angles are important and I want to use it as a pc monitor, although its primary function would be as a tv. Hopefully I'd want to combine a little digicam and use it for skype/video-conferencing with a dual phone. So a good all-rounder with plenty of connectivity and future-proofing. I also have a sony digicam which would be hooked up from time to time.

Budget is around £2400 tops for the Elonex + TV, so that means £1400 max for the TV. Anything lower would obviously be better so i can use the savings to get decent cables + other peripheral kit.

The LCD's I've identified so far are:
    Hitachi 32LD7200
    Toshiba 32LT56/58*