1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to put a Plasma !

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by zapata, Jan 7, 2004.

  1. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    OK folks I have a problem ! I want to buy a 42" Plasma screen but the location for it is going to be a problem. It has to go in the corner of the room, we have just moved into the house and the problem is that the stone fireplace extends at low level round the corner of the room where the TV would go. If I mounted it on the wall it would have to be in the corner which means buying a £500 swinging arm bracket. If I stand it on the stone shelf it will be too low but the shelf is not wide enough to put a conventional stand. Quite frankly it's doing my head in because I can see the cost getting higher and higher. Demolishing the stone around the corner is not an option because then I would have to change the carpet which is brand new ! Any help or suggestions would be really great as I am new to this and the forum.
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    If you don't need it to move, I'd put carpentry skills to use, and build a 45 deg. panel, or whatever suits, to mount an ordinary wall mount on. The swing out arms look like a dogs breakfast as well as costing £300
     
  3. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    I was thinking of making a corner shelf to stand it on but for a 42" screen it would have to stick out quite along way.
    @MAW Do you mean a panel across the corner of the room.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes exactly Done it myself on a couple of occasions, well to be truthful, got someone else to!
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I think that is what he is suggesting a panel accross corner above stone work then fit plasma to a standard wall mount that is fitted to the panel, I think i have seen a company doing side mounting but for a 42" this would need a very solid base! other option is a ceiling mount to hang screen over the stonework, needs a joist really though!
     
  6. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    Ohh What to do !
     
  7. codlord

    codlord
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I know you say you want a plasma but have you considered a projector setup? You could get a ceiling mounted roller-type screen that can be angled accross the corner of the room and would not be in the way when not in use.

    Of course not suitable for everyone but thought I would mention it.
     
  8. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    will it not fit over the fireplace????

    Gary
     
  9. Jason S

    Jason S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got mine mounted on an MDF panel which is battened to the wall. It was done that way for a number of reasons, but it's relative simple.

    As long as you provide a secure fixing to your outside walls the panel will hold up fine.

    I use 17mm MDF, and a sheet 8ft x 4Ft cost £30 delivered.

    With the panel in place you can hide all sorts of unnecessary cabling behind it, and you don't have to go hacking chunks out of the walls.........
     
  10. Andrew_B

    Andrew_B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +2
    Are you able to post a picture of the offending stone fireplace and corner?
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Was about £18 last time i went to B&Q A picture would help or even a drawing.
     
  12. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks guys for the suggestions ! Yes I will try and take a piccy tonight when I get home from work of the offending area.
     
  13. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cost me £6 for a 4' x 2' sheet of 12mm MDF from Focus, similar solution to yours Jason, with MDF bolted to wood uprights of a plasterboard/stud wall. with plaster board also having aluminium rawplugs fitted.

    so it was:
    plasma->wallbracket->mdf/pboard->wooduprights, phew!

    Gary
     
  14. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have another question that is bothering me aswell ! Is it true that if you get a plasma screen with separate tuner to wall mount that you need lots of extra expensive boards and converters to get a decent picture. I was talking to a knowledgable chap in a shop and he was explaining about picture quality and how you have to connect all of your AV equipment and I saw the potential creditcard bill rising and rising. He also said that to get a decent picture from a DVD player I would need to get a really good one say £500-600 and also invest in really good cables some of which cost more than some AV equipment. This is kind of steering me towards plasma TV's (one's with built in tuner) but most of these are not wall mountable and would look hrrible if they were because of the amount of cables so now I'm thinking of building some kind of shelf. It would be interesting to hear peoples thoughts on this and any experiences.
     
  15. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Nah, mate, nowhere near so bad. Obviously the more you spend the better the result, but with say a Panasonic PW6 or new Fuji VHA30, you get a scart connector, and good results are plug and play. It's true that small improvements can be made with VGA or YUV converters, but you must remember that many here :blush: are totally anal about PQ, and most are quite happy with the odd trivial imperfection! I'm just putting a VHA30 together, will be reoprting scart PQ in an hour or so, well, initial impressions. They need running in like any equipment before you see the best.
     
  16. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Dont know what you mean!!! :D :rotfl: :rotfl:
     
  17. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    @MAW I am indeed interested in the Panasonic PW6. In your experience how many of the connector boards would you need for say sky/dvd/freeview etc as I have been told the best way to connect some of the equipment is via the RGB/YUV converter etc.
    I am just trying to gage how much I need to spend, the guy in the shop likened it to buying a Ferrari and then putting a Skoda engine in it. In other words your buying a decent screen so the other parts need to be decent aswell ! Would I be right in saying that you either supply equipment or install it.
     
  18. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Both, or all 3, at any level. I don't install or sell all in ones. Boards required depend on your amp as well as the actual number of components, some amps do AV switching. And also if your other 1/2 if any can cope with the complexities, or whether you need an all in one remote to make it easier. Switching inputs on amp and screen is a bit much for some of the users in some homes, due to age or lack of inclination to learn! You need to see some screens running, and not in Currys. Where are you, and we'll send you in the direction of the best/nearest specialist. I don't want clients too far away, it makes it difficult to offer the kind of service I expect to give. But most of us are happy to deal at any level, it's probably better to buy a good screen and basic rest, as the screen is the biggest single item, and the hardest to upgrade if you feel the need over time.
     
  19. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    @MAW I live in Surrey about 20miles west of Heathrow airport. Yes your right I need a specialist to see them setup but as you say not any of the high street stores as they don't have a clue !
     

Share This Page

Loading...