1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to get XPMCE rollup 2?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by HiZ, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. HiZ

    HiZ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Is there a legit place to get XPMCE rollup 2 yet or am I as well searching non-Microsoft sites for it? is it likely to change again before microsoft release it via Windows update?
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Official release shouldn't be far away now.........hardly worth the trouble downloading elsewhere :) .

    :smoke:
     
  3. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +59
    there are a few places to get it !?!

    One nice feature is that the digital audio service is now in the tv channel guide.

    It also seems to have the mce tweeks built in. Works well on giving widescreen with plasma - :thumbsup:

    Not had a chance to look at anything else but seems very stable :eek:
     
  4. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    I think it is due on windows update tommorrow

    lisa
     
  5. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,322
    really ? I do hope so as I get an annoying crash type thing on loading my MCE and its supposedly fixed with this

    roll on Sunday then - hang on - released on a sunday ?
     
  6. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,825
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +522
    its not going to change your life!
     
  7. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,322
    no but it might stop that annoying crash
     
  8. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    oops, I meant monday... mind you I did get hold of it early and installed it, MCE broke and I did a clean install.. hoping that the official release is different, will probably give it another go - I have a ghost back up of my MCE installation now..

    lisa
     
  9. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Not there - checked on xpmce, looks like it will be another week.. :rolleyes:
     
  10. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +135
    The official release date (on Windows Update) will be 14/10/05
    MS are coordinating the launch of rollup2 with the Digital Life Show in NYC. Probably to highlight XBOX360 extender features to that audience.

    However - I have a question for those of you who have already installed Rollup2 from the MSDN or OEM versions.
    What does the "Away Mode" feature do....??
    As for some reason this feature will not be available from Windows Update - only on the MSDN/OEM version of Rollup2......
     
  11. Werner

    Werner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    away mode will only benefit you if your bios supports away mode, so dont even bother with it for the next few years....
     
  12. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +135
    but what exactly does "away mode" do...?
     
  13. Werner

    Werner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    in laymans terms, the pc will look like it is off, and pretty much act like it is off, but it will be on.

    Imagine burning a cd, then pushing the power button. The pc will appear to be off, but your cd burning will continue and wont create a coaster. hence the term "away" mode..:)

    in tech terms, imagine s3, but with the cpu and other critical systems operational. (sounds like s1 doesnt it:))
     
  14. Werner

    Werner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    deleted - double posted by accident
    ignore
     
  15. OhPinchy

    OhPinchy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
  16. HiZ

    HiZ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Well... thats me up to rollup 2. Very easy....

    Radio channels are found when you tune to the mux (like set top boxes work..it reads the PMT...about time Microsoft!). So for example Radio 1,2,3, etc will appear i the guide once you watch channel 5 or anything else on the SDN mux. Does this mean all new channels will be added automatically in the future like ITV4 and the big channel number shuffle on tuesday?

    Shame the radio services can't be under the front page title menu "My Radio". Also a shame can't run visualiser but i getss thats a Media Player function so i guess its asking a bit too much!
     
  17. Starfury

    Starfury
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Is rollup2 on any coverdiscs?

    Im still on dial-up and dont fancy downloading a 62Mb update that'll take all day.
     

Share This Page

Loading...