1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to get a scart board for my PWD6?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by TeresaTT, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. TeresaTT

    TeresaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +13
    I know that most people here will say don't bother and get a scart to RGB converter, but I really don't want to lose auto wide screen switching for my general TV viewing. I've had my PWD6 a week now and my supplier is having trouble getting hold of a scart board and I'm getting desperate as we have the PWD6 on the floor because we can't get rid of our old TV until we can watch the Plasma.

    AV-Sales won't sell scart boards on their own and AVLand don't do them. Where else is a good place to buy from that is likely to have these in stock?

    Thanks
     
  2. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Please use classifieds if you have something to sell or trade - [edited lynx]
     
  3. jasonjbj

    jasonjbj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    try nexnix
     
  4. sl8ed

    sl8ed
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try e-bay, think there's one on there for £110 + delivery.
    Also I think unbelievable.co.uk are selling them.
    Richer sounds say they sell them, but never have any in stock :laugh:
     
  5. Tony8377

    Tony8377
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    878
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Try Ebuyer.com on the attached link for £120 + P&P. If things go wrong (in my personal experience) they have the worlds worst customer service but they are normally very cheap and have 35 in stock.


    Ebuyer.com

    Can't get the link to work as it keeps changing the page. Just go to Ebuyer.com and search for 'panasonic board'
     
  6. TeresaTT

    TeresaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks for the replies. I meant retailer, not supplier. I've just heard from him and he says that his supplier has got some in so hopefully I should have mine by the weekend. I'll wait and see, but I'll be terribly dissapointed if it doesn't turn up. I can't wait to watch my TiVo on it. I've just spent ages applying all the hacks to my TiVo and tweaking it to get the best possible picture and it now looks fabulous on my CRT.
     
  7. Tony8377

    Tony8377
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    878
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    So you managed to upgrade your TiVos resolution and bitrates ok and noticed a descernable difference in picture quality? Out of interest what did you change the bitrates to?
     
  8. TeresaTT

    TeresaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +13
    Tony8377, I'm using 7500000/9000000 Mode 0, but at constant bit rate. The difference isn't huge on my Loewe Xelos, but it has got rid of much of the noise when there is a lot of movement. I had to apply the fixed fpga7114.o as my picture had shifted horizontally showing a green on the right hand side. The picture still looked a bit garish, so I've also applied the iicset settings. These have toned down the colour and reduced the contrast. There is now almost no difference between Aux Bypass and TiVo. However, I do get the white flashes at the bottom of the screen. Some programmes are worse than others. I'll have to play with the bitrate to see if I can reduce the flashes. Hopefully my new improved picture will be good enough for the scart in my PWD6 (when I get it).

    I've also got TiVoWeb with all the extra modules and I can even use Digiguide on my laptop to set recordings on TiVo. I'm also running endpad which adds soft padding to the start and end times of recordings. Its pretty cool having so much control over my TiVo from my laptop, especially setting recordings from Digiguide. The only problem is that my young son likes to play with the serial cable trailing across the room.
     
  9. Tony8377

    Tony8377
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    878
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    TeresaTT, The guy that did mine also used the 7500000/9000000 bit rate (haven't switched on the VBR either although I'm told you'll find it hard to notice the difference) and fixed the horizontal shift problem automatically. I would have liked to have had the contrast settings adjusted but forget to ask. It sounds like you've got loads of extras by doing it yourself so well worth it (if you have the know how of course).
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    TRy downing and downing in stourbridge.... they may have one in stock you can pick up.
     
  11. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +251
    I got mine from the Sevenoaks branch of Sevenoaks Hi-fi.

    It was £125, which is full price, but worth it if you don't want to wait!
     
  12. TeresaTT

    TeresaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +13
    daveb975, the full price for the scart board is more like £170. Rackhams in Birmingham wanted £180. £125 is a good price.
     
  13. TeresaTT

    TeresaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +13
    Looks like I'll have several options if this scart board doesn't turn up soon.

    Thanks for all the replies.
     
  14. rafaqat

    rafaqat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of intersest, what does the PW6 panel take as inputs when people say it takes RGB? What sort of conecter is used?
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    RGBHV via VGA as well as component YPbPr. Possible a couple of others, but input boards for other tyopes of signal are available
     

Share This Page

Loading...