Where to buy xbox component cables ?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by packmanuk, Jun 11, 2004.

  1. packmanuk

    packmanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,032
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've just purchased a component vga box so that I can use my xbox on my vga monitor. However it came without any xbox component cables. Does anyone know where I can buy these cables on the high street ? I've seen them online but want to get them tomorrow. Also which are best to get and should I be getting something like the microsoft high definition pack or are cables all i need ?
     
  2. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    If the VGA thingy plugs straight into the back of the xbox, all you need is a decent component cable. You can get 'em all over - try the specialist AV shops. Expect to pay a few quid tho - £50 isn't unreasonable for a decent 3m lead. They go as low as £15 tho, so it might be worth seeing if the cheaper cables are up to the job if the shop will let you change it to a better one if necessary.

    If the VGA box expects a component input rather than plugging directly into the xbox, then you need a MS high-def pack. The Gamester hi-def pack (from Game) isn't any good for proper hi-def modes. Unfortunately the MS one isn't much available, but you might get lucky. The Gamester one is only a few quid, it might be worth the risk if it's all you can find. If you're xbox isn't modded so you're using a Pal interlaced signal, the Gamester pack should be good enough. Both packs come bundled with a component lead.

    What brand is the VGA box?
     
  3. packmanuk

    packmanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,032
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
  4. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Yeah, you need an XBox Hi-Def pack. If your XBox is a standard Pal one, the Gamester pack from Game will do the job. If it's modded or imported, and you want to use the proper hi-def modes (these are unavailable on a standard Pal xbox), then you need an official MS one. Ixos also do a good one - these are available from the SevenOaks hifi chain (www.sevenoakshifi.co.uk), and probably some independant local hi-fi / home cinema shops.

    The write-up is a little confusing, when I first read it, it looked as if the device didn't work with a 576i signal (interlaced PAL), but having read it again it looks like you'll be OK, just grab a hi-def pack and you're good to go.
     
  5. packmanuk

    packmanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,032
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes my xbox is modded. So that means no to the gamestar I suppose. So hifi shops will sell a hd pack that fits the xbox ? I'm wondering about the connecter that fits the xbox.
     
  6. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Ring around you local hifi shops. I've only ever seen 2 non-MS ones. The Ixos is good, but doesn't have optical audio out if I remember correctly, and the gamester one is pants for hi-def

    The connector that fits the xbox is part of the hi-def pack
     
  7. packmanuk

    packmanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,032
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    I managed to buy an xbox component cable in game. I've used it to conect the vga box and my xbox together but still get no picture. I get the message (signal over range on my monitor screen) Any ideas what the problem is ? Do I need the microsoft HD pack as well as the cable ? I thought the vgabox + cable would be all I needed to get a picture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice