1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to buy xbox component cables ?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by packmanuk, Jun 11, 2004.

  1. packmanuk

    packmanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've just purchased a component vga box so that I can use my xbox on my vga monitor. However it came without any xbox component cables. Does anyone know where I can buy these cables on the high street ? I've seen them online but want to get them tomorrow. Also which are best to get and should I be getting something like the microsoft high definition pack or are cables all i need ?
     
  2. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    If the VGA thingy plugs straight into the back of the xbox, all you need is a decent component cable. You can get 'em all over - try the specialist AV shops. Expect to pay a few quid tho - £50 isn't unreasonable for a decent 3m lead. They go as low as £15 tho, so it might be worth seeing if the cheaper cables are up to the job if the shop will let you change it to a better one if necessary.

    If the VGA box expects a component input rather than plugging directly into the xbox, then you need a MS high-def pack. The Gamester hi-def pack (from Game) isn't any good for proper hi-def modes. Unfortunately the MS one isn't much available, but you might get lucky. The Gamester one is only a few quid, it might be worth the risk if it's all you can find. If you're xbox isn't modded so you're using a Pal interlaced signal, the Gamester pack should be good enough. Both packs come bundled with a component lead.

    What brand is the VGA box?
     
  3. packmanuk

    packmanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
  4. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Yeah, you need an XBox Hi-Def pack. If your XBox is a standard Pal one, the Gamester pack from Game will do the job. If it's modded or imported, and you want to use the proper hi-def modes (these are unavailable on a standard Pal xbox), then you need an official MS one. Ixos also do a good one - these are available from the SevenOaks hifi chain (www.sevenoakshifi.co.uk), and probably some independant local hi-fi / home cinema shops.

    The write-up is a little confusing, when I first read it, it looked as if the device didn't work with a 576i signal (interlaced PAL), but having read it again it looks like you'll be OK, just grab a hi-def pack and you're good to go.
     
  5. packmanuk

    packmanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes my xbox is modded. So that means no to the gamestar I suppose. So hifi shops will sell a hd pack that fits the xbox ? I'm wondering about the connecter that fits the xbox.
     
  6. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Ring around you local hifi shops. I've only ever seen 2 non-MS ones. The Ixos is good, but doesn't have optical audio out if I remember correctly, and the gamester one is pants for hi-def

    The connector that fits the xbox is part of the hi-def pack
     
  7. packmanuk

    packmanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I managed to buy an xbox component cable in game. I've used it to conect the vga box and my xbox together but still get no picture. I get the message (signal over range on my monitor screen) Any ideas what the problem is ? Do I need the microsoft HD pack as well as the cable ? I thought the vgabox + cable would be all I needed to get a picture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...