Where to buy SKY+ box?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by rosbif, Sep 23, 2003.

  1. rosbif

    rosbif
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Far, far away
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am looking to buy a SKY+ box - unsubsidised as I can't connect to a phone line. Any ideas where to get one for a good price? Have seen a Pace 3100 for £249...

    I take it I then just ring SKY and ask for a subscription, and a 'secondhand' mirror subscription for the old box... And all this before we move house in three weeks!!!

    :eek:
     
  2. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,257
  3. rosbif

    rosbif
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Far, far away
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that - it seems that Brymar are the cheapest when the cost of the quad LNB are included (at least of the ones I have found so far...)
     
  4. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you are missing one very very important point:lesson:

    In order to have a mirror sub both boxes MUST be connected to the same 'phone line.

    In which case you may as well get it from Sky for £199 with £1 installation, that's the cheapest I've seen it anywhere. Either that or wave goodby to your mirror sunb idea!

    Dave
     
  5. rosbif

    rosbif
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Far, far away
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dave,

    Thanks for that - I understand that the mirror sub is a no go with no phone connection; is there no way of getting a 'mirror' type sub with no phone connection?
     
  6. Andrew_B

    Andrew_B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +2
    You could pay full whack for both subs - Ouch!
     
  7. rosbif

    rosbif
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Far, far away
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would certainly hurt - and I really only need the other one for Eastenders (for her) and CBeebies (for them)!

    :zonked:
    :suicide:
     
  8. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,969
    Can't you just use a free to air card in the 2nd box ?
     
  9. Andrew_B

    Andrew_B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +2
    That would do if all you need is BBC1 and Cbeebies.

    p.s. Carrot club sucks!
     
  10. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    The BBC channels on 2D no longer require any smartcard, you could buy a standard FTA digital receiver from any manufacturer if
    that was your main reason for adding a second STB.
     

Share This Page

Loading...