Where to begin?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Ironmalk, Aug 16, 2013.

1. Ironmalk

Ironmalk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

I was hoping for some advice on home cinema purchase and considerations. I am completely new to this and some general advice would be greatly appreciated. In my new house I intend to have a dedicated movie/gaming/beerhole mancave :) I have done a little bit of research but would like to hear from people who have actually done this.

1. I am familiar with acoustic room treatment from building a small recording studio. What are the major considerations when applying acoustic room treatment for the purposes of home cinema? I will be soundproofing as much as possible, adding bass traps and acoustic foams. I will be 'blacking out' the room for viewing.

2. I almost certainly will be purchasing a motorised screen. Will any model do and is all 'screen material' the same? I havent worked out the dimensions yet as the room size has not been finalised (ie the wife aint told me which room I can use yet :) )

3. Is there a formula for calculating how big the screen should be with regards to seating distance?

4. DLP or LCD projector? I read somewhere that the 3 chip DLP's no longer put out the rainbow effect...Im leaning this way as opposed to LCD for that very purpose and to avoid the 'screen door' effect on LCD.

5. Gear - My budget is approximately £3000 for screen, projector, blu ray, 5.1 speaker system, 5.1 amp receiver. I am not interested in 3D. The furniture and construction (minimal construction btw) will be separate from the 3k budget. The problem is I have looked at so many projectors and 5.1 systems that I am now officially lost and bogged down with choices. What is good, what is bad? For the purposes of home cinema I dont know.