1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where can I find XS32 firmware updater?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Matthew Attoe, Feb 21, 2005.

  1. Matthew Attoe

    Matthew Attoe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi,

    I'm sure I read somewhere that there is an XS32 firmware updater floating around on the net, possiblt on a german site.

    Does anyone here know where I can find it?

    Better still has anyone tried it? And been successful?

    If anyone has any news or information that they could pass on to me, it would be gratefully received.

    Many thanks in advance,

    Matthew
     
  2. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Here is the link:

    http://www.toshiba.de/consumer/dvdsupport/89/

    There is one for hardware version 13, and one for hardware version 14. (My firmware version shows as 1414; the first 2 digits is the hardware version). The update is to 1415.

    I haven't tried it...
    I asked Toshiba UK, and all they said is that there is no update currently available in the UK.

    Mark
     
  3. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  4. Matthew Attoe

    Matthew Attoe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks for the link.

    I've had a look and all the instructions are in German, funnily enough, so think I'll pass for the time being.

    Thanks anyway,

    Matthew
     
  5. jdarushall

    jdarushall
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since my old machine was classed as un-repairable I tried it out.

    Put in CD and switch off and back on then say yes.

    Changes the DVD drive software from 1414 to 1415. Didn't do anything to menus language etc.

    It did seem to read discs quicker but the problem with the machine was the drive was faulty.

    It may do something to any multi-region upgrade you have and I guess thats why no one will try it. I can't say since this machine wasn't multi-region to start with.

    Download the file ver13 or ver14 burn the file as an image using disc at once and finalised.
     
  6. Matthew Attoe

    Matthew Attoe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +11
    My machine is version 1310 - will this update it to 1313 or 1415? It is also multiregion, so not sure whether to try it or not.

    Decisions, decisions...
     
  7. jdarushall

    jdarushall
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    First time I'd hear anyone with a V1310.

    It does say in the instructions that if your version is 13xx to use the version 13 upgrade to make it 1313.

    If the mulit-region is via a disc that alters the firmware on the DVD drive ie like computer ones then it may de-mulit-region it as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...