When will they make it perfect?

samd1980

Standard Member
What a SKY+ HD box really needs is a Wi-fi connection.

Then you can join it to your home network and connect to any media server you might have on your PC(s).

How great would that be then heh? You could also then forego the silly telephone connection as it could do all it's work securely through the internet.

Come on Sky, make it happen!

Broadz

Distinguished Member
Yeah. Cos everybody who's got Sky has a broadband connection to the internet and a wireless router haven't they?

pcbbc

How great would that be then heh? You could also then forego the silly telephone connection as it could do all it's work securely through the internet.
In case you hadn't noticed, the internet uses a routed protocol. It's a fairly simple matter to reroute messages and make them look like they came from somewhere else.

samd1980

Standard Member
I am an IT manager, so yes I do understand this.

In case you hadn't noticed, Sky are pretty good with their public and private key encryption management and they could easily accomplish this by making the entire session encrypted (which they obviously would do - it would be ludicrous to attempt this in cleartext). Has anyone managed to get encrypted recorded material off the hard drive yet and then watch it?

For the luddites out there, the modem chip on the box probably costs about £2 so I'm sure they could keep that.

Broadz

Distinguished Member
No Sky box needs to be connected to the telephone unless it is part of a multiroom account (or if you want to order pizza, box office movies and vote on X-Factor). It certainly doesn't need a telephone connection to allow it to receive and record high definition transmissions.

Valkirk

Although they do put it in their T&C and have had people get sent disconnect letters unless they plug it back in....

And would love the box to be able to work as a media centre on a home network.....

samd1980

Standard Member