When getting V+, can you keep and use original pace box?

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by Maninblack, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. Maninblack

    Maninblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    When getting V+, can you keep and use original pace box?

    If I get a V+, can I keep the original pace box and use it?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Ben

    Ben
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +263
    You can, but VM will charge you a fiver a month for the privilege.
     
  3. Gooseh

    Gooseh
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, as said above, it costs £5 a month.

    I had the cable guy wire it in upstairs for me and I have the same channel package as I do on my VBox downstairs.

    Pretty good deal in fact.

    One of the few decent things about the whole sorry mess really.
     
  4. Jayceef1

    Jayceef1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gravesend
    Ratings:
    +11
    If you go for the VIP package then then it is included in the package.
     
  5. radriderx

    radriderx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Reading this thread just ignited a neuron in my dim and distant memory bank :D

    I got my V+ box Dec 06 and as part of the promotion you were allowed to keep your original stb free of charge and if I remember correctly I wasn't ever charged for it.

    But - I recently changed package and now have 2 V boxes and 1 V+ and just noticed I'm getting charged for all three:thumbsdow

    Time to contact CS again!
     
  6. Ernie_C

    Ernie_C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
    That's not my recollection. I think the deal was that the then £75 install charge for V+ (TVDrive) was waived if you kept your original box at a charge of £5 per month for at least a year.
     
  7. Ernie_C

    Ernie_C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
  8. radriderx

    radriderx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    You might be right! - Definately didn't pay any installation charges :)
    But at the time (13 mnths ago) I was threatening to leave to SKY as they were having a deal on their HD box (£150 at the time) but CS gave me such a good deal I stayed - got free movies for 6 months and they also waived the £5 for the extra box - maybe that was also for 6 months.

    Ah well it's only a fiver :rolleyes:
     
  9. jaybo123

    jaybo123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +1
    my mate's got a v+ box paid 75.00 does he ever own the box?
     
  10. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    No, it's rented.
     
  11. panasonicman666

    panasonicman666
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    To be honest it depends on the installer that comes out, a guy came round to install my NTL box and also flogged me a box that has all the channels for nothing, the box cost £150 but it only worked for 6 months.

    I see the guy driving round in his van every now and again and apparently he does it with a lot of other NTL drivers.

    I am getting the V+ box fitted on the 31st, i have asked my missue to play dumb and ask if we can keep the box, if we have the dodge guy he may just say give me a £10!! ha ha!!

    This dodgy guy even supplied me with NTL cables and connections for £10, i did the wires, put the new box upstairs and everything was smashing!!
     
  12. Ernie_C

    Ernie_C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
    What is the world coming to? Not only are you condoning the criminal action of this employee and becoming a criminal yourself but you are also encouraging your wife to become a criminal as well.

    What you should be doing is reporting this guy to his employer, Virgin Media.
     
  13. panasonicman666

    panasonicman666
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    The criminal part is customer service, one person can call them and get it for free, another will charge, the 2 people who call can be on the same price plan, same services but one advisor does it and the other doesnt.

    This way is just a more i your face way of getting something for nothing!!

    Reporting the guy isnt going to do anything, there are a lot of people doing this (or there were). HAve you never seen the boxes??
     

Share This Page

Loading...