when a plasma screen cracks

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by alowe, Dec 10, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    When a plasma screen cracks (just the glass, not the electronics, what do I need to replace? Is the glass that's cracked integral to the electronics behind it that displays the picture?
     
  2. TarPot

    TarPot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,800
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +342
    It might be helpful to let us know what model the television is?
    You maybe able to get the front glass replaced. I did this in the past with a Fujitsu plasma.
     
  3. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's an old TV. Panasonic TX-P42S11B.
    As far as I can tell it's not possible to get parts for it any more so trying to find out if an alternative 42inch glass would work or I have to buy something with electronics attached.
    The actual part number is: MC106F16T12 TA92304. I'm not sure where to start.
     
  4. drdocmatt

    drdocmatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    GB
    Ratings:
    +286
    It's at least 8 years old, I'd say it's scrap.
     
  5. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    So, are you saying it's physically impossible to replace the part?
     
  6. drdocmatt

    drdocmatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    GB
    Ratings:
    +286
    It's not clear to me what's actually broken, but if the panel is broken I would very much doubt there's any point replacing it from a financial pov.
     
  7. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's just the glass that's cracked. I'm not sure what comprises the panel. If the panel is just the glass then the panel is broken. If the panel is the glass plus something else then the panel is not broken. This is why I ask the 2nd question in the OP.
     
  8. drdocmatt

    drdocmatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    GB
    Ratings:
    +286
    Yeah, no idea. Think most of the lower end models had no additional glass sheets over the front of the display panel, and all the sets that *do* have an additional layer I've seen it was plastic, so I suspect that if you have a cracked anything then it's the glass display panel itself.
    More pragmatically does produce an image? Does it produce a correct image?
     
  9. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    No, there is no image, but I'm connecting it to unknowns. The SCART cable I'm using isn't proven yet. The antenna connection isn't proven either. I'm getting a 2nd TV to test the reception then will hopefully know if the TV input is working. Will update later.
     
  10. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,617
    You don't need an aerial or any input from any source to test for an image...do you get any menu display?
     
  11. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,894
    It's simply not worth repairing. You need to replace the whole panel, so unless you can find an identical TV and do a transplant, it's a trip to the skip. TBH, an 8 year old panel is likely to have degraded quite a lot if used daily and may even screen burn.
     
  12. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    No, but I've never seen the TV menu during normal operation. I want to be 100% sure it's not stuck in some non-menu-displaying mode. Seems a shame to throw away something that is 99% working except for one simple part. We live in such a wasteful world!
     
  13. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,617
    There is no non-menu display.
    If there is nothing on-screen when you press menu on the remote then the panel is kaput and as others have suggested it's not going to be cost-effective to repair.
     
  14. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've used TVs before where you have to press a few buttons for the menu to display. This isn't that unusual. I just want to be 100% sure. Getting another TV on Monday. Will find out then what the deal is.

    As for cost effectiveness, I live in Scotland. When looking for cheap 2nd hand TVs in London of the same spec they're everywhere for about £20 each. And new listings get added every day.

    In the last week there has only been 1 listing within 50 miles of my house for a 32inch TV and it sold for over £100 second hand! Where I am the demand for TVs is high but the supply is very low. That skews the definition of "cost effective".

    I'll let people know the outcome after I've tested it properly. I wouldn't be surprised if the display is dead but want to be absolutely sure.
     
  15. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,617
    Yes it is.
    I come across just about every brand of TV daily in my work and a menu button on a remote or on-set should instantly display something on-screen.
    There are none labelled “Menu” that require more than one button push to display “something” on-screen.
     
  16. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well, then send me the remote, cause I don't have one. You're just going to have to accept that I won't give up until I'm 100% sure. If you can't accept that then stop replying to this thread.
     
  17. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,617
    A fact you didn’t mention.
     
  18. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Do you want me to mention every fact I know incase people want to know?
    It would take me about 10 years to type the post and it would break the forum. The next relevant update will come after Monday. Now, go and give the dog a bone.
     
  19. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,617
    You’ve posted here asking for help but you don’t seem to be capable of accepting good advice.
    Bye bye.
     
  20. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    I didn't ask for your advice. Bye bye.
     
  21. Lostsoul 301281

    Lostsoul 301281
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6,434
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    Great way to get help.

    It’s always expected that if you have a problem, and you’re asking for help here, you must give details.
    In your case, TV make and model, any missing peripherals which may impede use of the TV, and the exact problem as best as you can see/describe.

    Otherwise your post will read as “my TV is broken. How do I fix it?”, and that is if no use to anyone.
     
  22. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    I did. 3rd post from the top. Any other questions?
     
  23. drdocmatt

    drdocmatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    GB
    Ratings:
    +286
    Well I can tell you that every Panasonic plasma I ever saw displays *something* on the screen during power-on, regardless of input selected or any other settings. Even then the screen will flicker a few times and settle to its default near-black display idling mode and if you look closely you will see both scan lines and dithering. If you get none of this then the panel is totally dead.

    And given that you don't even have a remote for it I would say test away (can't blame you for that), but I'd put money on it being destined for the scrap heap.
     
  24. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,894
    The part you will need to replace is basically the largest and most complex element. It's akin to getting a knackered washing machine, keeping the casing and replacing the drum, pumps and motor. You just reach a point where it's not worth repairing and the sum of the parts is worth more than the whole.

    Can I be honest? I think you are wanting someone to give the answer you want to hear, not the correct one, which is that replacing a 8 year old plasma panel is not an economic repair. I appreciate that living in remote areas changes the cut off point where it becomes better to replace than repair, but I am sure that even in the wilds of Scotland, you will be able to find a replacement TV for less than the cost of the spares to fix this one.
     
  25. alowe

    alowe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, thanks DrDocmatt. At least you've given me some precise information that isn't too vague. I'll still test the other TV so that I can at least be sure there is a signal. It's a shame cause the TV originally cost £900 supposedly. What a wasteful society we are. I'll never understand why.
     
  26. arenaman

    arenaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +6,975
    Locked at OP's request
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...