1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whats your commit charge?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by Dunkwho, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. Dunkwho

    Dunkwho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +24
    I looked at the performance tab in device manager the other day - my commit charge was running at 1.5gb!!! I thought I'd avoid most mem associated problems by building my dedicated htpc with 1gb RAM ... but this sucker is gobbling that plus 500mb of HD thrashing :(

    most of the mem was being eaten by ehshell I think (don't think it was ehrec), system wasn't doing anything special just displaying a pic off one of the two dvb-t cards ...

    D
     
  2. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    320mb...
     
  3. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    Turn of your pagefile. With 1gb of RAM its unlikely any HTPC needs a pagefile.
     
  4. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,575
    I'm glad somebody out there agrees!! :thumbsup:
     
  5. KoThreads

    KoThreads
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,016
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +182
    324 mb with 1 Gb DDR
     
  6. Dunkwho

    Dunkwho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +24
    hmmm.
    i turned off my page file - boink, all stop - out of memory ! :(
    The processes' task manager tab shows that ehrec is using some 500mb+, and ehshell 200mb+ - that can't be right surely!? I wonder if dual dvb-t is making a difference (are you guess dual dvb-ting), or even the card\drivers ...? trying to do some trial and error to establish if one\the other is boosting my mem requirements to silly levels. I don't have great mce stablility on my machine but don't have anyone else to check with for their units, could this be the cause of my problems, are your units rock solid?

    cheers
    Duncan
     
  7. stevieby

    stevieby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have not seen ehrec above 100 meg so perhaps this could be an issue. Usually it is about 30-40 meg.

    ehshell does hang but for me stays around 80 meg
     
  8. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    Sounds like a problem with your setup. I have 512mb of ram and use one DVBT card with MCE and I don't use a pagefile.
     

Share This Page

Loading...