1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whats up with panny?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by spazpecker, Jun 27, 2005.

  1. spazpecker

    spazpecker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    whats wrong with me pv500 been fine for 2 weeks and now there,s a thick black line running from top to middle of the screen?
     
  2. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    Don't know mate, but it doesn't sound very good.
    I suggest you call the retailer.
     
  3. kurtz

    kurtz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    last place you'd look
    Ratings:
    +21
    The PV500 is a dual-scan screen with separate drivers for the top and bottom halves of the screen, so it is possible to just get a fault in the top or bottom half of the screen, like this picture of a faulty panny where the bottom half has gone bonkers.

    If its there even on the Panny's menus then it could be a column driver on the top half of the screen; contact the dealer.
     
  4. spazpecker

    spazpecker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. TonyA

    TonyA
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    That'd be very confusing if watching 2001, as you'd have more than one "monolith". ;)

    Looks like a fault - you'd better report it to your retailer asap.

    T.
     
  6. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    I might be wrong, but I think someone is having a laugh at the panny owners expense - check out the name "spazpecker" hmmm...
     
  7. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    Must admit I thought the same, but just answered the question, cos I'm nice like that :smashin: .




    admins, an IP check???

    As much as I'm annoyed that the Panny 500 seems to be the only tele to have, I wouldn't flame it.
     
  8. BliarOut

    BliarOut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same fault that killed my Techwood by the looks of it. A failed scan IC in my case. Basically you'll need a new set as it's beyond economic repair.
     
  9. spazpecker

    spazpecker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    this is no joke i have a 2.3k tv with a black stripe apart from the stripe the tv PQ is great. Been watching it allnight and the stripe flashes and disappeares but 2 seconds later its back, it does this about once in every hour so could this be a dry joint on one of the boards?
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,590
    spazpecker

    Your screen is 'driven' in sections - not sure how many on the PV500; in a dual scan device its often six top and six bottom.

    Its a 'common' fault to have one of the driver circuits that drive a sub area of a panel to fail - resulting in a half height 'strip' of dead pixels.

    Call your retailer.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  11. greyhorse

    greyhorse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    I can see that line , dont look nice
     
  12. spazpecker

    spazpecker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes joe i think you could be right deffo band of dead pixels

    well rang dixons who after 45mins of passing me around say they are sending a replacement but are out of stock at the moment (bugger!!) so lets see how well dixons handle this will keep you upto date with the progress.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. swartzy

    swartzy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,282
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +660
    I bought the PE30 37 inch Viera just slightly after my brother in law....His developed a fault like this only the line went the whole way from top to bottom of the screen like a black bar of dead pixels....www.av-sales replaced the set with no question :)
     
  14. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    These panel driver circuits look well suspect to me on the current Panny's :rolleyes:

    Hope you get yours sorted.
     
  15. spazpecker

    spazpecker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Update: Well so far Dixons have been top notch they informed me that they had new stock coming in today and said they would ring me to say what the stock situation was. This they did today but i missed there call so i checked my email and there was a note to say that the exchange can take place monday 4th so far im well impressed.
     
  16. spazpecker

    spazpecker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    :thumbsup: panny replaced monday 7days after the fault first appeared so 1st class service from dixons.
     

Share This Page

Loading...