Whats the tie in for Sky HD?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Argee1977, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. Argee1977

    Argee1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    If i was to get sky HD would i be signing up for another 12 months, i've been waiting for it for months and now find i could be moving soon so if theres a 12 month tie in then it'll be 2007 before i get HD?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    Yes it will come with a 12 month minimum term since it's a pre-requisite for getting the STB at £299.

    Any doubts don't rush in, it's going nowhere:)
     
  3. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Eh?
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975



    Perhaps he is moving in 3 or 4 months and the process could take another few months before he is in a position to think about SKY (decorating, building work etc) and then it's christmas and the sales.

    Then he can think about SKY in 2007:)
     
  5. jay_edinburgh

    jay_edinburgh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you will still be living in the UK can you not take your Sky contract to another address?
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975



    Yes they also offer a moving service but I suppose that may only be useful if the new house is ready to go otherwise you are paying a sub for nothing even if you downgrade to the lowest package for the duration.
     
  7. bobsplace

    bobsplace
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +47
    sorry to go ot......

    Just come back from holiday and this place has moved on in a week.

    Tried to order via the website and it appears down, anyone found this and an alternative way to order?
     
  8. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    It was working again yesterday (but said you can't pre-order now until April 6th or something) but it's broken again now, seems to be unable to load a javascript page from a server called static.east or something which is what makes those 3 links work.
     
  9. Argee1977

    Argee1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    The full story is that if i move it would be in around 3-4 months, with my work they do all the buying and selling for me so i move down to the new job (500 miles away) for 1 month, come back, pack up all my stuff and stick it in storage and then move away for 6 months into rented accomodation, i've done this twice now and the first time i downgraded my membership to the basic sky, second time i cancelled completely due to the timescales above (paying 15 quid for nothing over 7 months wasn't happening again).

    I was just wondering if you could downgrade to the lower packages if you've gone bought sky HD, or will it be a case of paying top whack?
     
  10. wandersen

    wandersen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    You can always change packages though. Biggest risk is knick back to the lowest package with no HD and no Sky+ for the remainder of the term.
     

Share This Page

Loading...