1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whats the spec of Kryton

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Alaric, Aug 31, 2001.

  1. Alaric

    Alaric
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +95
    Hi there

    Helps if i type something before hitting return - Anyway, i was curious after reading some of the event bits, what spec Kryton was.

    I also take it, its set up for a plasma screen rather than a projector.

    I'm curious, as for a comparison to my HTPC, which i use with my BarcoData 800.

    cya,<br /> Lee
     
  2. TWD

    TWD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Details <a href="http://www.homecinemachoice.com/articles/techarticles/200105_Kryton/200105_kryton.shtml" target="_blank"> here </a>.

    [ 31-08-2001: Message edited by: TWD ]</p>
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The article is a bit out of date;, this is the spec;

    Vatyx 3U desktop case<br />PowerPCCooling Silencer 400 PSU with Papst 12 db fan<br />Asus CUSL2-M mobo<br />PIII 933<br />512MB PC133 CL2 RAM<br />Sony 3.5" Floppy drive<br />Fujitsu 40 GB ATA 100 HD (removable drive bay)<br />Hitachi GD7500 DVD rom <br />Radeon 64MB DDR VIVO<br />IDS Falcon video capture card<br />Terratec EWX 24/96 sound card<br />Seetron 2x20 VFD display<br />4 port drive bay USB hub<br />Airboard IR keyboard<br />Philips Pronto remote

    <br />Jeff
     
  4. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Jeff

    Thanks a lot for those details.

    Couple of questions....

    Did you replace the power-supply fan yourself? How is this done, I thought you had to be very careful before going into a PC power supply because the caps take ages to discharge?

    Does the terranex do 41kHz audio for MP3 and CD's as well as pass through on the digital?

    Also could you post links to supliers of some of the odder stuff. I've had trouble traking some of them down.

    John
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    John,

    I did replace the fan myself, I'm not sure about the discharge thing, the PC had been switch off all day, but you probably don't want to touch some of the stuff in there. The fan was easy to get to.

    The Terratec does do 44.1KHz CD and compressed audio (I use WMA files but MP3 should be the same). It also plays DTS CDs with WinDVD.

    The places to buy stuff;

    Weird extras like replacement fans and sound dampening material <a href="http://rswww.com" target="_blank">http://rswww.com</a>

    Sound cards;

    <a href="http://www.makingwavesaudio.co.uk" target="_blank">http://www.makingwavesaudio.co.uk</a> (They also sell the Audiophile)

    Normal PC bits

    <a href="http://www.dabs.com" target="_blank">http://www.dabs.com</a> <br /><a href="http://www.pricewatch.co.uk" target="_blank">http://www.pricewatch.co.uk</a> (to check prices)

    PSU<br />I imported the PCPwerCooling PSU from the US.<br /><a href="http://www.pcpowercooling.com/products/power_supplies/ultra_quiet/index.htm" target="_blank">http://www.pcpowercooling.com/products/power_supplies/ultra_quiet/index.htm</a><br />A good alternative would be an Enermax available from <a href="http://www.overlockers.co.uk" target="_blank">http://www.overlockers.co.uk</a>

    All the other links should be in the original article.

    <a href="http://www.homecinemachoice.com/articles/techarticles/200105_Kryton/200105_kryton.shtml" target="_blank">http://www.homecinemachoice.com/articles/techarticles/200105_Kryton/200105_kryton.shtml</a>

    Jeff
     
  6. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Jeff

    Thanks for those links. I'll hopefully be going shopping soon for the parts for Marvin the paranoid HCPC ...

    On the power supply thing I remember researching DIY mods before and being scared off by the warning about discharging the caps. From what I remember the recommended way is to get two wires attached to a resistor and short the cap for about half an hour. The other less recommended way is to just short the cap with a screw-driver (the later way is not recommended is the other half is around apparently <img src="smile.gif" border="0"> ). If you don't do this there were lots of scary warnings about "bad things", like death, happening.

    John
     
  7. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    John,

    Call me Electro, when I was 6 I wired a 9V bettery to the mains. I wanted to recharge it of cause. <img src="smile.gif" border="0">

    Jeff
     
  8. Matty N

    Matty N
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine was trying to light a strange shaped bulb using some stranded cable and a live lamp bayonet socket. Slight problem was that I only used one piece of cable, single core stranded divided into two halves at each end like little pigtails. Big bang and whole house in darkness (it was all on the same ring!) but I was fine. A friend tried a similar trick and blew himself clean through the patio door, and yes it was closed at the time.

    Guys, have a look at the <a href="http://"http://www.ati.com"" target="_blank">ATI</a> site, on it is the new Radeon (doesn't it remind you of the washing powder) 8500 with enhanced video scaling and reproduction. "Advanced deinterlacing" may put it at a better competitor to the scaling HTPC crown than the current crop of cards.

    Matt
     
  9. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The 8500 does look interesting and probably worth waiting for if your currently looking for a new card.We shall see, I'm sure that it will be at least as good as the current Radeon with regards to DVD playback. The new deinterlacing features will probably only work with the new software player that they are doing.

    Jeff
     
  10. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Jeff

    Oh yes! Childhood brushes with electricity, my first was at three levering out a mains plug with a knife. One loud bang later I was on the other side of the room, my mum still has the knife with two melted bits.

    First of many ...

    John
     
  11. Alaric

    Alaric
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +95
    Hi there,

    Jeff - Looks an interesting PC. I noticed the 'Event' stuff mentioned WinDVD. Have you tried the ATI player. Most peeps (inc me) think its a couple of notches better for picture quality.

    As for the Radeon 8500, well it looks an interesting beast, particularly for even better DVD playback than the curent radeon series !

    As for ATI's software, naturaly you'd expect them to want to get the best out of thier products and i'm certain they will do. (boy do i wish i could say more!)

    cya,<br /> Lee
     
  12. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Lee,

    I guess that you are one of the AVS ATI beta testers, I have tried the 4.1 ATI player with the 0IRE patch and all I can say is that the WinDVD setup that I have gives a picture that is just as good. ATI have a long history of poor software /drivers, maybe they will get it right this time. I will definately give the new player a go when it is released.

    Jeff
     
  13. Matty N

    Matty N
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lee,

    does that mean you have the inside on all things ATI, or just the software.

    Intrigued...
     
  14. Alaric

    Alaric
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +95
    Hi there,

    Jeff - Your right....I've been screwing my PC up for the last month or so, with various bits of beta software. Personaly, with my Barco 800 the 4.1 player is better than WinDVD (2.6.4 IIRC), I find that in the shadows there is a lot of noise that the ATI player doesn't exhibit.

    Matt - I'm afraid i'm under quite a strict NDA and something I wouldn't personaly break even if it wasn't.

    All i can say is that the beta testers are quite a pushy bunch and fairly thourough. Hence i'd expect some promising things from the new players.

    Oh and as for the 8500, well you can see from online spec's that theres some extra stuff for DVD playback.

    cya,<br /> Lee
     
  15. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Lee

    I'm not so sure that the 8500 has anything new for DVD playback. The relevant features, deinterlacing and gamma were already on the earlier Radeons. I didn't see any new features that would improve DVD playback.

    John
     
  16. Alaric

    Alaric
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +95
    Hi there,

    Toms hardware had :<br />--<br />The new chip will come with hardware accelerated MPEG2-decoding, motion compensation and iDCT for top-notch DVD-playback as well as MPEG2-recording. 'Video Immersion II' comes with an improved de-interlacing algorithm and new frame rate conversion techniques to improve sharpness and avoid jittering. Radeon 8500 will also support high quality HDTV.<br />--

    There are also comments about 'temporal de-interlacing' and potentialy componant outputs !

    I'd say its looking like it could be prety good for HTPC usage.

    cya,<br /> Lee
     

Share This Page

Loading...