whats the problem???

dobber24

Standard Member
Hi newbie here.
I have a Onkyo TX SR508 AV and a Toshiba BDX1200 Bluray.
When i watch films that are in DD true hd 7.1 there are quite parts?
When its being used (7.1) is this because I'am not using enough speakers because i have added an extra 2, or is it the AV or Bluray, not able to run 7.1?
I asked richer sound where i bought both from but what they suggested it did not help, hence me asking on here. See if anyone knows why or has had the same issue?

Kind regards Mike

davepuma

Distinguished Member
Sorry but can you elaborate a bit more. What exactly is happening? What speakers are you using? Did you run the amp's setup (manually or using the mic)?

dobber24

Standard Member
yeah sure using the speakers which came with the av 5.1. all onkyo
when watching films in dolby true hd which is 7.1 ( btw no other english option unless you want commenary)
a 3-5 second part will go silent no audio what so ever ?
set up with and without mic. i have had it setup a while just watched mi4 ghost protocol last night which this happened in.
master audio no problems?

davepuma

Distinguished Member
Does this 'silence' happen on the same part of the film all the time? When trying to fault find, you need to try and isolate the problem. As you have said it has happened on more than one disc we can rule that out and it's only on Dolby True HD. I would try swapping cables and maybe inputs on the AVR. When it happens, does the display change on the AV Receiver? Is HDMI audio output on or off? HDMI problems can be a right royal pain to diagnose. Try altering the sequence that you turn the equipment on as well as it could be a handshake issue (I'm really guessing now!).

dobber24

Standard Member
yes for instance got me blu ray player and bought transformers 3 (class film) and it happened, so checked it over and over one part exactly same point in film.