whats the HDD size on Sky HD the box??

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by dr no, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,334
    I appear to have missed this somehow OR they haven't released it.
    I find this strange as everything else is out in the open. It would be interesting to know how much recording time it will allow in the different resolutions. whether it allow recording to DVD recorder from HD to SD etc. etc.
     
  2. MartinQ

    MartinQ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sleaford
    Ratings:
    +0
    I saw the Sky installers presentation which we should not see and it said there that it would be 250GB with 160GB available for the user and 90GB for unspecified (at the moment) Sky use.
     
  3. blakey1

    blakey1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +40
    Not sure anyone actually knows but from what I understand thats part of the fun of buying into new technology:confused:

    Its rumoured to be 300gig with 160 for Sky+ and 140 saved for a video on demand type service.
     
  4. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    300GB sounds right, because the Sky HD clips were only a min length at the longest, while being 60MB at the biggest buds.
     
  5. frankmsl

    frankmsl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +10
    I thought it was strange that I was offered to pre-order SkyHD without there being any info on the hard disc size, so I asked a local specialist who told me they were told a few weeks ago that it would be either 160GB or 200GB. Ofcourse this is hearsay
     
  6. andrewrunagall

    andrewrunagall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +63
    My latest FHM mag says it'll be 300Gb, Can't wait!!!
     
  7. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    It is 300gb but only 160gb can be used for Sky+ type storage.
     
  8. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,334
    surely useable 160Gb is too low:thumbsdow
    What kind of practical use will that be with recording HD progs?

    I despair at their choice especially when it wouldn't cost that much more to put a 300-500Gb HDD in there
     
  9. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    MPEG4 offers much better compression tha MPEG2 and whilst I agree they should have had the foresight into allowing much space for recording, 160Gb is still useable for most of us.
     
  10. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,334
    how much space do you think a HD movie will take?
    I don't watch much TV but do like to record interesting things for later.
    I have had Sky+ v2 pace for a while but, between the family, find the need to delete to make space.
     
  11. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975


    Using mpeg2 a HD movie can be anything from 10gig to 25gig even more allowing for other data in the broadcast stream.
    Using mpeg4 you can chop those figures by 40%-50% so while the recording capacity (time wise) for HD on a 160gig partition (compared to SD mpeg2) will be less it will probably still 40hours plus and since SD will stay take up a huge amount of viewing the average will be a little higher.

    For those that want to archieve more content lets hope the external SATA interface is enabled very quickly:)
     
  12. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,334
    I think once Sky HD is more or less on way to being established Sky release a second bigger better box with all faults and ideas taken onboards from first outing. Same as they did with sky+
    Also when sky is completely HD then this 160gb will be quite small
     
  13. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975


    Yep a second gen box is a cert and I've read elsewhere that PACE are already on board, not confirmation of that so pure rumour:)
    Of course no guarantee a second gen box will be better or that the SKY software will be more robust, after all I wouldn't swap my SKY+ v1 for any of the later units:)

    SKY is very unlikely to be 100% HD.
    There will certainly be more HD channels but a move to an all HD lineup would mean a huge investment in supplying HD boxes free to the exisiting SD subscriber base. The SATA interface is perhaps the most logical way to allow for the need for further storage expansion:)
     
  14. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,334
    Even then HD content is going naturally increase very quickly now. Now that we're moving onto HD DVDs and BlueRay, HD panel uptake has been tremendous, and i would guess that programme makers will switch to HD sooner rather than later.
     
  15. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975



    That's true for programme makers just as they did with 16:9 but that is a far cry from actually broadcasting that content especially if it means replacing the current SD broadcasts. Look at 16:9, nearly a decade and very few 4:3 CRT's on the market now but there are more hours of 4:3 content than 16:9 thanks to the cost and limitations of archieve material.

    HD is going to have to sit side by side with SD for a generation at least, after all it's going to take 14 years to go from analogue to digital and that didn't require new TV's and there are very definite cost savings to be made by the broadcasters, no such thing with HD:)
     
  16. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,334
    true.
    lets hope things speed up and we have much better, greater HD selection. I suppose thats what we really want.
     

Share This Page

Loading...