1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whats the difference?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by deadred, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. deadred

    deadred
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +90
    Between a DVI-I cable and a DVI-D cable, i'm wanting to connect my laptop to my LC26GA4E but don't know which cable to buy?

    Also does anyone know where to get a decent one?

    cheers
     
  2. imh

    imh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DVI-I cables can carry both Digital and analogue signals, DVI-D can only carry digital.

    As your PC can probably output a digital signal your shuold be ok with a DVI-D cable, though a DVI-I would also work as it will fit the Sharp and almost certainly the PC...
     
  3. ajp558

    ajp558
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fleet, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    deadred

    I just bought one of these Belkin Pro DVI Dual Link 3m cables (£12.94 inc VAT but not p&P) to connect my PC (Nvidia FX5200) to my new Acer AL2671W LCD with DVI input.

    BelkinProDVICable

    Cable seems solid & well made. Picture quality is amazing compared to VGA which is just good but noticeably not as good.

    AJP
     
  4. deadred

    deadred
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +90
    Thanks for the info, how do i find out if i can use the dvi-d cable? My laptop is a Benq Joybook 8100, i've looked in the manual and can't see anything
     
  5. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Deadred,

    Be sure you get the correct connetion. If your PC has a DVI-I port then you can get a DVI-I or DVI-D cable but if the PC has a DVI-D port a DVI-I cable will not fit.

    Take a look on here for the pin configurations....

    http://www.lindy.com/uk/tips/uk/Digital_Monitor_Connections_Explained_/index.php

    Note the 4 extra pins on the left on a DVI-I male connector. Now take a look at the DVI-D female and see there are no pin holes for the 4 pins.

    Richie.
     
  6. deadred

    deadred
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +90
    Now to confuse matters more i've noticed my laptop only has a vga output :confused: for a second monitor
     
  7. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
  8. deadred

    deadred
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +90
    Cheers Rich, i've just ordered those, i'll let you know how i get on
     
  9. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've found that my laptop will not support the native resolution (1366x768), even with an unregistered version of Powerstrip. Apparently if you register Powerstrip you can get a driver for it though.

    Richie.
     

Share This Page

Loading...