What's The Difference Between 'Normal' & 'Studio' Subwoofers? - Is This One Any Good?

Suave

Distinguished Member
Hello All,

I am a novice on understanding subwoofers so please forgive my ignorance. I have been trying to learn about them and it is not as simple as one would think! Any way, I really would like a very small compact sub (mainly for home cinema but also music from time to time) and would like it to be 'out of the way' as much as possible.

I have found one I quite like but it is a 'Studio' Sub. How and what is the difference then, between a Studio Sub and a normal one(s) that one would get from any shop and which are advertised. (Studio subs are not normally advertised or reviewed by Hifi/Av folks/press?). The one I saw would be quite good for my needs but I do not know if Studio subs 'work' in normal applications or if there are bad issues or they do not sound good when used in the home? (it says that it can work in the product details but I thought it best to check).

The details on the one I have seen are below (apologies for the very long info but I thought I best put all of it there so you can get all the full facts). If a Studio sub or this one will not work or is not advisable, does anyone know of something of similar size with good performance that is reasonably priced? Here are the details:

Regards,

Suave.

TAPCO SW10 SUBWOOFER

Sometimes, you just got to have more bass