whats the best settings for ae500

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by jasonjbj, Apr 24, 2004.

  1. jasonjbj

    jasonjbj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    i watch it in a dark room
    but getting really lost with the dve disc
    somefilms look good then some really bad
    what is it best to have contrast and sharpeness set to
    thanks in advance
    jason
     
  2. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Good grief, I have been trying for ages to set up my AE500.
    I use AVIA and still it's a bugger.
    The only thing I can say is just try and twiddle with Contrast - Brightness - and maybe pixel clock if using a PC. Leave the sharpness where it is..I find that is best.
    I did the flicker adjust by going into options and holding down the enter button and adjusting the flicker.
    I am constantly fiddling with the settings and have decided just to let it be. Be careful not to lose detail in the blacks when adjusting the conrast and black levels.
    The state of some DVD transfers mean that some films look great and some dont...this isn't down to your equipment! More to do with poor telecine transfers.
    I think the AE500 is shipped with a pretty good setup...but be careful not to let it ruin the enjoyment of your movies...Guilty....

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  3. jasonjbj

    jasonjbj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    i own the sony 930
    what player do u think will give the best piture ?
    i am between samsung 935 ,PANASONIC RP-82,
    unsure what do go for ??
    anybody own either with the ae500
     
  4. stan_toopee

    stan_toopee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got an AE500 that i'm using with the Samsung 935 and i couldn't be happier. Picture quality is amazing using the DVI route, but you need to alter the picture setting (625/720/hdtv60) depending on the source material. I tend to use 720 for Pal films and HDTV60/1080i for ntsc. I haven't noticed this 'Judder' on Pal films yet, to be honest i dont' really want to.

    Basically, one happy punter.
     
  5. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi STan

    Is the difference between DVI and component vastly noticeable?
    DVI interests me but it does mean trying to hide another cable.

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  6. stan_toopee

    stan_toopee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This system is an upgrade from an AE100 connected to a number of different dvd players over the years, all of which fed the pj via the amp to a PRO-V on through a d-sub connector. only ever used component once with a Lecson dvd which didn't impress me.
    Sky went in through an RGB to S-VIDEO converter then to the amp etc. Too much processing ruined the picture though. Now with the AE500 i'm using a high quality scart direct to the pj, this has improved the quality, shame about the content, but the footy is ok.
    If you can, go with the DVI.
     
  7. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +637
    read this post:
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=129548

    it'll show you how much trouble I had with the AVIA disc. Now much improved after buying a £7.50 filter to stick over.
    My panny now looks as good as an H30 (but I had to reclaibrate using AVIA).

    problems: as someone implied: still looks pants in daytime
    and I can't figure out how to set the Gamma using avia's oh-so-well-explained Gamma test pattern.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice