whats the best dvd recorder for me?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Kasparaitis, Sep 14, 2004.

1. Kasparaitis

Kasparaitis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im a newbie to this game and I know many of members on here are experts and so any advice would be appreciated.

What Im specifically looking for is a dvd recorder that will enable me to record sports games off NASN (Sky channel 417) and then edit the footage so that I can create dvds full of goals without any other footage.

I have been helpfully told I need a model that lets me divide/combine titles and delete parts of a title at will. So I think thats a must for whichever dvd recorder you recommend.

I don't really want to pay over £300 and have been looking at the Sharp DVHR300H which is only £300 but dont really know if it does all the above and apparently it doesn't have RGB in which I read is bad.

Any info is massively appreciated. :smashin: :smashin:

Cheers.
    Ed

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,599
    RGB is the best quality output available on Sky digiboxes. Accordingly RGB input on DVD recorders is highly desirable because it allows you to record in best quality. If you want to record from Sky don't touch a recorder without it.

With regard to what you want to do with your DVD recorder - edit, re-arrange scenes etc can be achieved with most DVD 'minus' recorders, i.e. models from Panasonic, Sony, Pioneer. However note you will need to record in 'VR mode' which will allow you to do everything you want but you will find your recordings are incompatible with most DVD players. If this is acceptable then look at the Panasonic E55, Pioneer 220 and Sony GX3. Such machines are available from £210 and so are well within your budget.