1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's so great about TheatreTek ???

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Ray, Sep 23, 2005.

  1. Ray

    Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi to all the TheatreTek/FFDShow fiddlers out there.

    I've a couple of days left before ThetreTek take my £40 and don't have time to do a lot of comparisons with other software players so as per the title "What's so great about it ?". Apart from allowing me to use FFDShow does it have any great advantages over other available s/w players ? My CPU is running at 100% with FFDShow so I'll have to wait for a rebuild before using the TT/FFDShow combo in all it's glory. Is it worth keeping TT as a standalone player in the meantime or are the other free/cheaper players just as good on there own ?

    Cheers

    Ray

    PS FFDshow has taken over as the codecs on my WMP10 player. How can I stop this ? I can't see how to tell WMP to use particular codecs. Any ideas ?
     
  2. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    The biggest plus for me you have already mentioned, which is of course the ability to use post proccessing.
    It has a great set of definable video options, allowing selection of Overlay, VR7, VR9, DX Acceleration, definable de-interlacing mode and black bar colour selection to think of a few off the top of my head.
    Then there's the ease of control and a vast amout of defined shortcut keys from the simple play to customizable aspect ratio selection. All these short cut keys are asignable to all the popular remotes and most of the popular ones like Pronto, ATI RW and MCE Remote already have pre-figured pluggins.
     
  3. Hawklan

    Hawklan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +289
    Hi

    For me it's simply the amazing picture quality
    Even before I used Ffdshow it was a definate step up from my Arcam DV27

    RON
     
  4. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    Oh yes, forgot about that.:)
    PQ is much better than my Denon 1910.
     
  5. Ray

    Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    Interesting - I obviously haven't gone into it deep enough in the past couple of days. Just been back to the website and found the documentation pdf and have printed it off! Will RTFM for once.

    Re: PQ though - is this down to TT or just the move from DVD player to HTPC ?

    Ray
     
  6. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    I think that HTPC should always provide better pq than a dvd player. I have not done a recent side by side comparison to other software like Power DVD so I can't really coment on that.
     
  7. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,881
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    I'm another converted Theatertek user. The reason I love it is:
    • great picture quality
    • the ability to tweak with FFD Show
    • continued development from the authors, with excellent support
    • a really nice simple interface, thats easy to navigate

    I have tried most of the other software players, and haven't been impressed with them. The picture quality on most is good, but they don't seem to quite match Theatertek. They also tend to have fiddly interfaces, which can be hard to navigate with a Gyration Mouse.
     
  8. Ray

    Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    Ok thanks guys. I'll have a further play tonight and probably stick with it.

    Question - how do I use the NVidea codec that comes with TT ? If I select this as the post processor the properties box is greyed out. Given that my CPU can't cope with FFDSHOW at the moment I want to give the other option a try. I assume it has some properties to play around with.

    Ray
     
  9. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    the best plus for me is that I can output the results to another monitor (i.e. my pj).

    CaM
     
  10. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    What TT now has a manual? :eek:

    As of about a month ago there still wasn't one 10 months after the release of 2.0. :thumbsdow
     
  11. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    BTW. The best reccommended way of running ffdshow is to disable all codecs, exept for 'raw' which should be set to YV12, and uncheck all except for YV12 in the output section. This should stop ffdshow taking over the other media player codecs.
     
  12. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    A slight misunderstanding here I think. :) The program is always using the NVidia codec, that's the software that's decoding the MPEG coming off the DVD itself.

    What you're selecting here is a post-processor which IMX does nothing useful unless you have an NVidia graphics card .. using an ATI 9700 I saw picture degradation. This post-process has no settable options, which is why the Properties button isn't enabled. In theory this processor improves video deinterlacing using part of the gfx card's hardware. Whether you can see any difference I wouldn't know as I never used it with an NVidia card, trying it is the best way. ;)

    This isn't an alternative to FFDSHOW, you can chain both (the NVidia one has to come first).
     
  13. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
  14. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Um no, if you look at the top of the first page you'll see that's for version 1.5 .. 2.0 was released in November 2004. :)

    Version 2.0 was almost a total re-write and a lot changed and was added that the 1.5 documetation knew nothing about.

    The plan was that 2.1 will have a manual, check discussions on Andrew's web site, you'll see many calls for a manual over the months since 2.0's release.
     
  15. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    :oops:
    I never used TT until Version 2.0 so I don't know what the main differences are, but flicking through the pdf I see the similarities but agree that an updated one should be up there by now.
     
  16. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    The similarities are in things like the A/R editor and some of the setup dialog, but many things added by for example the use of the NVidia codecs and post-processor have never been documented except in forum postings, also command line options were heavily re-vamped to cater for .TS playback, extra DVD-ripping options etc.

    If you only have the 1.5 manual you're missing a lot!
     
  17. Ray

    Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    Bugger - just printed off 41 pages of the wrong manual then ! I'll still give it a read though. How about an experts addendum from yourself KraGorn :)
     
  18. Hawklan

    Hawklan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +289
  19. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,888
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +941
    As anyone compared TT to ZP, as although i like the pq from ZP and ffdshow i am curious to how TT and ffdshow would compare, are they equal or is TT better. I am using NVidia codecs with ZP.
     
  20. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    I didn't notice any difference between using NVidia through ZP or TT. I use TT though because ffdshow refuses to work properly for me in ZP regardless of the settings I chose and I need the resize feature.
     
  21. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    As mentioned above there will be no quality differences when using the same codec in TT or ZP. The visible differences will be down to the colour settings in each application. TT does have one advantage in that it seems to be far more stable and usable when using VMR9 renderless and ffdshow than zoomplayer. This is perhaps due to the fact that theatertek uses only pretested codecs that are in a subfolder and not general window installed codecs like ZP.

    Personally, I use ZP exclusively because it offers the most versatility and ease of use with the built in file browser.
     
  22. Ch0pper

    Ch0pper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I like TT2.1 - It uses the nVidia purevideo codecs (installs the latest version when you upgrade to 2.1 from 2.0) and the PQ is great..

    It's nice to be able to fiddle with the interlacing and it seamlessly jumps from one .ts file to the next so no need to join them together first :)
     
  23. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,888
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +941
    Thanks for the reply's, i will stick with ZP for the time being then as i am happy with the PQ.
     
  24. Hawklan

    Hawklan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +289
    Hi

    The other thing to note is if like me you intend to use your HCPC as a multi channel pre-amp then I believe that only Theatertek and PowerDVD give you the ability to output 5.1 sound direct to a power amp instead of just outputing a digital feed to an external processor

    Many thanks

    RON
     
  25. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hawklan pretty much all Software DVD players will do that for you. There is an issue with nVidia audio codecs and programs other then Theatertek or MCE but in Zoomplayer you chose another audio codec such as PowerDVD/WinDVD or simply AC3filter which will decode Dts/DD to a 6+ discrete channel output whilst retaining the nVidia video portion.
     
  26. DEANO-B

    DEANO-B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +1
    The great thing about TT running ffdshow is that it doesn't crash like Zoomplayer does. If your CPU is running at 100% just use the 'sharpen' 'unsharp mask' setting at between 1 and 60 depending on quality of source and 'Blur and NR' 'gradual denoise' at about 30. These settings work fine on my hidef Panasonic 700 projector on a 100" screen where every little detail is evident.
     
  27. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    I think that's a sweeping generalisation. I admit that Theatertek seems to be overall more stable than ZP but to say ZP crashes with ffdshow without qualifing that this is perhaps in your experience is unfair. I have personal experience of ffdshow and ZP without any problems as like many others.
     
  28. DEANO-B

    DEANO-B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +1
    I ran ZP with ffdshow for 1 year and I would say it crashed on average twice a month, whereas TT in the 2 months I've been running it has'nt crashed once. Just my own personnal situation (and 2 friends) but if ZP is stable on your machine then I would'nt change to TT :thumbsup:
     
  29. Hawklan

    Hawklan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +289
    Hi stlic

    Thats good to know if I ever move from Theatertek (probably won't)

    Many thanks

    RON
     
  30. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Yeah I hear that, wasn't having a go or anything... :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...