• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Whats Needed To CFW A PSP S&L & Is It Easy To Do ?

Mensy

Distinguished Member
Hey guys and girls

Im a noob when it comes to psp never played one in my life so wouldnt no where to start :(

I guess this question has been asked loads ov times and i apologies, i had a quick look thro this section but cannot really find a guide and answers to what i need :(

I got my eyes on a white slim and lite, i only no its brand new from a shop and a 2003 model.

I dont no if i can find out what firmware is already on it and what motherboard it is without buying it, i dont want it if i cannot CFW it, i only really want it to play my old ps1 games i own and to play some emulators so i can get the oldies on the go lol.

So What do i need and how easy is it ?

Any help would be great thanx :thumbsup:

Mensy

Distinguished Member
Anyone ?

rcaudwell

Prominent Member
Have a look here :- [Guide] Psp Motherboard Relationships and Compatibility List - PSP Hacks , may help you work out what you can do with which psps. Possibly a little out of date now, as I think you can use chick-HEN enabler on all PSPs except the Go (and possibly the very newest 3000`s). Still using my phat which has been going since FW 1.50 days so sorry, can`t be more specific as not totally up to speed on recent model revisions.

Last edited:

Mensy

Distinguished Member
thanx mate i shall have a butchers :D, what on earth is chicken - hen ? :rotfl:

rcaudwell

Prominent Member
thanx mate i shall have a butchers :D, what on earth is chicken - hen ? :rotfl:

The hen part stands for Homebrew ENabler (I think), you run it on your PSP (up to PSP-3000) and then can run custom firmware enabler as well to enable all the features of custom firmware on any non-pandora able PSPs.

kBm