Whats a good price for Canon 18-55 IS kit lens?

Ojustabo

Hi all.

Have been looking on ebay at Canon lenses. I have the 18-55 non IS kit lens, haven't had any real problems with it but am off on holiday soon and thought if I find one at a decent price, it might be worth me getting the IS version.

Anyone advise me on what sort of price I should be paying for one please?

thanks

Ojustabo

Thanks.

One I was watching on Ebay ended at £98.85 (inc P&P)

Bristol Cameras in the site you linked to, has a new one inc p&p for £94.

Just got to decide whether it's £94 well spent or whether I should stick with my non IS and put it towards something else instead.

jonnypb

the new kit lens with IS is suppose to be quite a bit better than the old one. you could sell your kit lens for 45-50 so in essence you'll only have to fork out £50

Ojustabo

Me again :hiya:

Looking at Ebay.

I might be able to stretch to the

Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

Total newbie here. Am off to the Disney and Universal parks soon. I suspect there will be a few shows in low light that I'm trying to capture.

The extra range on the 85 would be nice for zooming in, but for this holiday, would the f/3.5 lens with the shorter zoom be a better option? (I know nothing)

many thanks (400D)

senu

Distinguished Member
Me again :hiya:

Looking at Ebay.

I might be able to stretch to the

Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

Total newbie here. Am off to the Disney and Universal parks soon. I suspect there will be a few shows in low light that I'm trying to capture.

The extra range on the 85 would be nice for zooming in, but for this holiday, would the f/3.5 lens with the shorter zoom be a better option? (I know nothing)

many thanks (400D)
Which lens is it you are comparing with? And how much are you getting it for?

Zoom not withstanding, the IS is supposed to be able to give you 3 extra stops of extra handholding given that its max f stop is 5.6 towards its long end (Zoom) where you need it most