What would you do in this scenario? 3x PB10 or 2x PB12 Plus?

J

javers

Hi All,

I'm new to the sub forum so go easy on me :D Attached is a pic of the front of my work in progress HT, screen is 8ft wide and room is approx 12ft x 15ft with carpeted floor and walls.

I'm looking to add some decent subs, and after hearing my mates SVS, decided on going down that road. I plan to listen at or near reference level so I want a lot of Bass. After reading the stuff here, using multiple PB10's has some appeal because they are front firing and I can therefore cut holes at the bottom of my front and recess the subs back flush, where as the BP12 plus's would have to sit out in the room on each side (not visually as appealing).

So my question is (giving my room) what would you guys recommend? Is having three woofers overkill / or just a bad idea?

Jon

Attachments

J

javers

No can't say I do need stereo from the subs, only thing about having one plus/2 is that the room won't look symmetrical because the sub will be at one side or the other. How do you think one plus/2 would fair up against 3x pb10's? as the price is very similar.

Jon

Ian J

Banned
I agree with Marek and feel that a single Plus/2 would suit you and would be far easier to integrate with your speakers than a pair or even three subwoofers.

These subs are engineered to provide clean bass at reference level in American sized rooms and should have no problems in the relatively small rooms in the average British house.

J

javers

Ok thanks for the info, I really had my heart set on having a symmetrically laid out room, but if the Plus/2 is my best performance option then I guess I may have to abort that idea or i could always build a fake box to sit on the other side to balance the look. :D Is there any hope that the pb10's would work? I appreciate it would take some fine tuning to get the phasing correct, but in an ideal world id like to avoid having a large box / boxes sitting out in my room.

Jon

PJTX100