What would you buy?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by g478fny, Dec 7, 2004.

1. g478fny

g478fny

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a newbie to dvd recording and need some direction as to which budget recorder to buy. I have only got £200 maximum to spend so would like to spend it as wisely as possible. I am considering the following: Philips dvdr70, Lite on LVW 5006, Panasonic DMR55EBS, Toshiba DR1, Ellion DVR900 or Philips DVR610. Essentialy this recorder will be a replacement for my VCR and dvd player, however the ability to edit the discs on my PC is a priority (I don't have a dvd ram drive on my PC). Could someone tell me which of the machines listed would be the better choice and why (in newbie terms) please.

2. watersa@ntlworl

watersa@ntlworl

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure many of those are well over £200? the Panasonic is generally £249.99 for example, unless you have a Costco card or a mate with one?
    I got mine for only £164 on special but it is still sub £200 at Costco & DVD RAM discs are only £13.60 for 10 compared to £29.99 on the highstreet.
    The Panasonic is excellent.

Oh & BTW I have a 12 mth old LG DVD rom drive on my PC & it reads DVD RAM OK

3. g478fny

g478fny

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply, all of the machines listed above are available for under £200 on Amazon uk. Like most newbies I won't really know what I want to do with my recorder until I get it and the more I try to investigate the more confused I get.

4. monocrider

monocrider

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally I'd save up for a bit longer and buy a machine with a hard disc - the difference in functionality is massive.

Regards,
    John

5. gpward

gpward

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0