What will I get from a BP via spdif if my receiver doesn't do TrueHD or DTS-HD

Sun

Hello,

I'm looking at investing in a Blu-ray player, i'm new to the party and my av receiver, a Pioneer VSX-1016 does not do DTS-HD or TrueHD however it does have multi channel inputs.

It seems the number of players with analogue outputs is pretty slim (although I'm open to recommendations if they have some good NAS streaming capabilities too).

If I cannot find a good multi channel option that leaves me with optical and coax. I will be content if I can get normal DTS or 5.1 from a Blu-ray player but how straight forward is that? Will it just downmix naturally from the new variants and will it be as good as normal 5.1 or DTS?

For instance I was just reading LG BP520 and it says I have the following options, would I choose Bitstream?

[PCM Stereo] (HDMI, OPTICAL)
Select if you connect this unit's HDMI OUT or
DIGITAL AUDIO OUT jack to a device with twochannel
digital stereo decoder.
[PCM Multi-Ch] (HDMI only)
Select if you connect this unit's HDMI OUT jack
to a device with multi-channel digital decoder.
[DTS Re-Encode] (HDMI, OPTICAL)
Select if you connect this unit's HDMI OUT or
DIGITAL AUDIO OUT jack to a device with DTS
decoder.
[BitStream] (HDMI, OPTICAL)
Select if you connect this unit's DIGITAL AUDIO
OUT and HDMI OUT jack to a device with
LPCM, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby
TrueHD, DTS and DTS-HD decoder.
It's very confusing but there must be lots of people who don't want to upgrade their receiver yet.

Thanks
Sun

toodeep

For instance I was just reading LG BP520 and it says I have the following options, would I choose Bitstream?