1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What will i gain with 7.1??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Poolsharkie69, Dec 17, 2004.

1. Poolsharkie69

Poolsharkie69

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am considering adding presence speakers to my current 5.1 set up as listed in my signature. I know I need to at least add a rear center to get to 6.1 but the layout of my room is weird so that makes it difficult from teh get go. Will I really gain that much more by buying 2 more presence speakers and a rear center? If I do shoudl I stick with paradigms? I know not alot of dvd's take advantage of 7.1. I just want to get the best our of the set up I have now and if getting more speakers will help then im all for it...just need some expert advice since I am a newbie of sorts.

2. Tejstar

Tejstar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +990
    My personal opinion is that 5.1 is adequate for most living rooms. I think you would notice a difference with 6.1 sound, but imo the difference would be marginal.

There aren’t that many dvds that are encoded in 6.1 so it depends whether you want to spend the spare cash on speakers or buy some more dvds instead :smoke:

3. Poolsharkie69

Poolsharkie69

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well to tell u the truth I only spend money on renting dvd's because I have a dvd burner that makes a copy of them for me anyways... :thumbsup: I do have the lord of the rings the two towers which I think is 6.1 or 7.1 and I have the star wars trilogy which has thx but not sure of 6.1 or 7.1. So you don't think I will notice that much of a difference with at least a rear center added? I listen to my sat box in 7 ch stereo caus ethat seems to provide the biggest sound. not sure if that is the right thing to do...but I like rich full sound.

4. NPM108

NPM108
    Standard Member