Question What type of Ethernet cable for skyq mini connections

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by silverpuma, Dec 27, 2017.

  1. silverpuma

    silverpuma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Ireland UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi all, I need some advice, please. I have 2 Virgin V6 boxes that I have 2 cat5e cables running from my Router to these boxes so I don't use the wifi connections. I am joining SkyQ in mid-January and am adding an extra skyQ mini box to my set up.

    So I will now have 1 x SkyQ 2TB box and 2 skyQ mini boxes. I need to add another ethernet cable for this extra TV/Mini box.

    To my first question......Do all my ethernet cables attach from my Router to my 3 SkyQ boxes? So I will have 3 cables leaving my Router to my 3 skyQ boxes? Is this how they are connected?

    Secondly, is cat5e cable ok to use to this new TV/Mini box? Like this one for example.....? Since my other 2 cables are cat5e could I use a cable like the one I linked to but a cat6 or is it better not to mix cat5 and cat6?

    Thanks in advance for any help offered and for your patience with these basic questions....:)
     
  2. SteveU30

    SteveU30
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,985
    You can connect the boxes via Ethernet or WiFi or a mixture of both.

    I have my main Q box wired, 1x Mini wired and the second Mini is on WiFi.

    The nic on the Q system is only T100 so even Cat5 is fine. Don’t see any issue in mixing though.
     
  3. silverpuma

    silverpuma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Ireland UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks Steveu30, just to check, do the ethernet cable on your 2 wired boxes both go back to your router? Or does the mini connect via ethernet to the main Q box? I'm just trying to figure out how these boxes connect via ethernet.
     
  4. SteveU30

    SteveU30
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,985
    Everything plugs into the router
     
  5. silverpuma

    silverpuma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Ireland UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Aaah....thanks all clear now!
     
  6. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,278
    And if you run out of ports on your router you can always buy a small switch.
     
  7. SteveU30

    SteveU30
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,985
    Exactly what I had to do, although I now need a bigger/second switch! [emoji23]
     
  8. silverpuma

    silverpuma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Ireland UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks for all the help........... it's appreciated!
     

Share This Page

Loading...