1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what to use to blank off the black bars?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cuewoz1, Nov 14, 2003.

  1. cuewoz1

    cuewoz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi
    My PTAE200 looks fine apart from when showing 2:35 kind of ratio giving me 5 inch black bars top & bottom, only they are not black ,more dark blue which is brighter in the top left corner.
    I hear some people use something to mask these ,
    what can I do? I am just projecting on a matt white wall.:confused:
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had typed a reply then realised wou dont have any screen masking at all...... so my reply really becomes redundant until I know whether you have none because you havent had a chance to paint a black border, or because doing so is not an option?

    there are threads more in general hardware about this but these would be faily permanent.

    I guess the easiest removable way would be to get a couple of thin pieces of hardboard or its likes, cut them so they are big enough to hide the bars, paint them black, mount a couple of hooks top and bottom of your viewing area, then simple hang them when a scope source is being watched. This is to me a bit of hassle, but if you cant put up a permanent mask, then it isnt a bad way of douing it.

    All the best

    ad
     
  3. cuewoz1

    cuewoz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for your reply.
    Hardboard sounds like bit of messing around, but with a permanent mask, I wont get the full screen with films not in this ratio or am I missing something?
     
  4. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    If they are Blue, press the Pannys remote, go into the menus and change the background option to Black...
     
  5. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Better in the screen forum me thinks :)

    Moved.
     
  6. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I meant you would have a permanent 16:9 mask (trust me, although it isnt blacking out any bars, it makes a big difference) then do something like i described for the scope ratio

    ad
     
  7. cuewoz1

    cuewoz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    oh I see,
    Yesterday I painted the wall dark grey and left a rectangle of white for the screen, hope this will make a difference.
    Should I still put a black boarder around?:confused:
     
  8. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    yes, better still buy a screen...:eek:
     
  9. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you could put a black border, it would be a good idea...... unless of course the grey is really very dark.

    Or alternatively send seahorse your address because he wants to give you money to buy a screen! :D

    ad
     
  10. cuewoz1

    cuewoz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    :D
     
  11. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +660
  12. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    What I meant was if you can afford a projector, a half decent screen is a fraction of the price.

    P.S. Left 50p under the door mat for you...:zonked:
     
  13. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    :D The problem I find is that a half decent screen is alot MORE than the projector. Consider my set up, 16:9 fixed grey screen with variable vertical masking. Even the cheapest screen you could buy with specs remotely approaching this would cost upwards of 2k...... I cant think of a single fixed screen which costs less that 500 which is a very large fraction of the projector cost and which will not be difficult to mach performance wise with a 20 pound home made job......

    ad
     
  14. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    My £240 Draper Luma does the job nicely. I am not convinced with the arguments for grey screens and masking is not an issue for me.

    If they were and I could afford a Stewart Greyhawk I would not have an AE100!

    As you have a 1 grand projector as £200 screen does not seem unreasonable...
     
  15. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    ah but my diy screen looks way better than the 200 pound screen I had...... pull downs will eventually become rippled to some degree so I feel a fixed screen is the only serious way to go short of tab tensioning...... so diy it has to be with my budget.

    Have you even actually looked into masking? This is the single biggest picture improvement I have even made.

    ad
     
  16. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Buns, what have you done for a screen. The jury is still out on mine, I still have time to do a DIY.
     
  17. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    My screen is simply a wooden frame in approximately 16:9 ratio. It is covered with the rubber backed blackout type material which is then painted (for no particular reason other than thats what i had) with matt white then I think 3 or 4 coats of icestorm whatever it is (the light colored one). I mounted it to the wall (horizontally on the 3rd attempt) from which point I went about my masking. I cut bars of the right length for a scope ratio screen for the side, covered then with black material and mounted them. From there I cut length for the top and bottom and covered them with black again. This time they are not fixed. I held them in position (for a scope ratio) and attached them by pulley cord running through pulleys above the screen. From there I got a slightly broader (to hide cords) cut of wood the right lenght for the side of a 16:9 screen and mounted it on top thus creating effectively a channel through which the horizontal pieces run. I then put another piece of wood on my moving bard so that they are level with the side pieces. Then set the moving bars to 16:9 ratio and placed stops at the bottom so they could go no further. Voila a complete grey screen with variable horzontal masking.

    Ad
     
  18. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    are you able to post pics
     
  19. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am able to if I had them...... Im going to try and borrow a cam next week for when the Z2 is hopefully here and i will take a load of snaps of everything

    ad
     
  20. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Go on do it now, it will give me something else to think about, at least with DIY I can create a wider than needed screen and black border it down to size.

    Whose ringing Ivojo today then?
     
  21. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unfortunately my cinema is currently located nearly 1000 miles away...... Ivojo at 500 ish so i cant be ringing them either!

    ad
     
  22. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    On the plus side if the Z2s are still in japan you are closer to them than we are.
     
  23. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    well on a further plus side, there are actually a load of Z2's in this country! I went looking last weekend actually :D but there is no one local who knows unfortunately..... well i could be wrong, but if i am it is my german to blame, nothing else!

    ad
     
  24. markbro

    markbro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Co. Limerick, Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Going to buy some velvet to attempt variable masking on screen. My question is should the velvet be matt or will the more shiny type do? Both are available - shiny type only €3 dearer.

    Still waiting for Z2:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...