Question What to upgrade next (or what is the weak link in my system?)

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by ntranced, Jan 7, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ntranced

ntranced
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I currently have:

Pro-ject Debut Carbon (upgraded to acrylic platter and Blue cartridge)
    Pro-ject Tube Box S
    Denon DRA 100 amp
    Wharfedale Diamond 10.3 floorstanding speakers
    Wharfedale Diamond Subwoofer

I could spend up to £3k but I really don't want to spend that on a LP12 or something if what really needs the investment is my speakers.

The one item I'd be loathe to change would be the Denon, it ticks every box in terms of my requirements for inputs/outputs/bluetooth etc. The majority of my listening is vinyl but I'm also a guitarist with a home studio hence the Denon is a really, really useful tool as virtually anything can go in to it in one fairly neat little box.

I'm really lost as to where to go next. Be interested to hear anyones thoughts!

2. rorackowe

rorackowe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +213
    I'd say amp and speakers. I'd either demo actives or a power amp and passives with your Denon as a pre amp as suggested above.

3. Don Dadda

Don Dadda

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +728
    The setup deserve better speakers and I agree with the above, active or passive. Not sure about power amp. The 10.3 are 6ohms speakers so the Denon should be giving around 45w -50w approx. So what it has you may find is enough for your situation.

However, it's all well and good suggestions are given but we don't know what the problem is or why you feel the need to upgrade.
    So what to you is lacking or is it an itch that's wants to be scratched?

4. Member 96948

Member 96948
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,253