What to replace my Philips DVDR70???

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Damian1978, May 23, 2004.

  1. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,498
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +266
    Hi chaps,

    Got a Philips DVDR70 for £170 from Safeway two weeks ago but its starting to misbehave. Its skipped on a couple of Region 2 DVD's and crashed whilst making a timer recording the other day (gave the error of D803CE8F0). I've been using Philips DVD+RW's and they are always fine when played back on my DVD players. It crashed again yesterday with the same error and when I played a normal Region 2 DVD in it the lip sync was miles out :rolleyes:

    So I have a return code for it but no idea of a replacement (they have no more)....oh and I now have 8 DVD+R blanks and 15 DVD+RW blanks.

    The Panasonics seem to fair much better for reliability from what I've read (I know the 880 series of Philips recorders were noted to be dodgy!) but the RAM format is no good for me due to compatibility and expense.

    I have considered the Sony GX3 for £300. Looks great and I like Sony but its £130 more and does not have the editing functions that the Philips has for DVD+RW. If I were to use DVD-RW instead in VR mode and copy it to DVD-R would it play like a normal DVD with all the edits intact?

    My final choice is the most expensive....the Panasonic HS2 for £450. Sounds great on paper and I can ditch buying any re-writable media. Can you edit out all you want on the HD then dump straight to DVD-R?

    Help :confused:

    Damo
     
  2. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you are considering HS2 then consider Tosh RDXS32. Larger HD, -RW as well. Dv in, etc etc. Unbeatable will sell for £415 in June
     
  3. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,498
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +266
    Hmmm. Thought had crossed my mind on that one as I currently have the Toshiba SD900 and its great.

    Looks like I'll have to rough it then till the Tosh is released.

    I have got an HS2 reserved at Richer Sounds though.....er.....what to do?? :(
     
  4. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,498
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +266
    Well I've just gone an pre-ordered the RDXS-32SB.

    Should be a good one!

    :thumbsup:
     
  5. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    For in depth reviews checkout AVSforum.

    They have had it in the states for a while.

    general consensus is a great machine but has a black level issue, which I think is US Specific because of some bizarre IRE boost their TVs require.
     
  6. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,498
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +266
    Well Toshiba UK seem to think its been built exclusively for the UK.

    I mentioned the Black level issue and its for NTSC material only.

    Still wondering if its a bit extravagent for my needs but considering what you get it seems like a bargain!
     
  7. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    The HS2 is old hat and you need not buy it now.Go for a Pioneer 5100.Only £499,80Gb HDD,high speed dub,disc backup(like PC copying)and it uses -RW and -R.All your editing needs would be met by the HDD.You can then transfer to -RW(VIDEO) for playback on other players,then reuse it later
     
  8. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2

    Well the guys on AVS all say if it wasnt for the black level issue it would be the "best bang for your buck". Ive compared it to the Pioneers, panasonics and the Philips and format aside it seems to offer more for less. I know its a gamble ordering it early, but someone has to be a guineapig and ive been wating in the aisles too long!
     
  9. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,498
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +266
    Typically the Philips has been fine since its little blip the other day and at the weekend so I'm still wondering what to do.

    I've downloaded the US manual (thanks nunew33) so I'll have a good think about it.

    Just a bit concerned that Dual layer writing is round the corner and I don't mind experimenting with the Philips (if it keeps working) for £170 and upgrading when a Dual layer HD/DVD recorder comes along but £430 is a bit steep to replace when Dual layer arrives.

    Hmmmmm........ :rolleyes:
     
  10. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    then theres hdmi....then theres epg.....then theres dual digital tuners....then theres something else.... 50 terrabyte Hard disk

    its tough to know when to jump on isnt it?

    I set the bar at under £500, RGB in, DV in, DVD RAM, Pal progressive and componant out and I think the tosh is the only one that meets that criteria.

    I bought a sony VHS edit deck 7 years ago for £600. So £415 seems a bargain to me. Im assuming that Ill replace it in 3-4 years time anyway, by which time a mature option or alternative technology will be available
     
  11. dixonm

    dixonm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    You will find that the Panasonic DMRE65 will fit the criteria specified by nunew33 and its well under £500 (£340 check out on Kelkoo).

    HTH :smashin:
     
  12. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    But unlike the new JVC and Toshiba machines ,Panasonic fail to add -RW to enable rewritable compatibility.The E85 is the same,and this is,to quote What Video,"the machines Achilles heel"
     
  13. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    It will be interesting to see if Panasonic follow JVC and Toshiba's example and add (at least) DVD-RW (Video). The new Toshiba RX32 outclasses the Panasonic E85 and, as it lacks the card slots/DVI of it's bigger brothers, lacks the home camcorder/camera appeal. Of course the Toshiba model isn't available for a six weeks yet whereas the E85 is available now.
     
  14. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like the look of Panny machines and their menu systems.I am dying for them to bite the bullet.As soon as -RW is there with the others I will have a Panny again.Although I would keep my Pioneer simply for the Disc Backup feature-its excellent-why don't other machines offer it-or do they but keep quiet about it?
     
  15. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    I believe Sony are going to add it to their DVD/HDD combos. And I would suggest when Sony does it the others might be tempted to follow. Lets hope so!
     
  16. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Er, did i not mention Hard disk? E65 doesnt have hard disk
     
  17. dixonm

    dixonm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Er. No mention of HDD!! else I would have stated E85! :thumbsup:
     
  18. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Alas the E85 fails my criteria. but it does have one major advantage, it exists and can be bought now!

    Will give tosh till end of June and may get panny out of desperation (and before SWMBO revokes capital expenditure permission)
     
  19. Toothy

    Toothy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  20. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,498
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +266
    Hi,

    Yes I did upgrade to the latest firmware. Not sure if thats where it all went wrong.

    I managed to get hold of another DVDR70. This one seems better and I have the official firmware CD-R from Philips. Don't know if I dare try it.

    The order of the Toshiba has been cancelled.....theres always a chance this Philips will die though :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...