• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

AD18

Novice Member
Hi all,

First post so bear with me if I'm a little slow as I'm fairly new to all of this!

About a year ago I picked up a pair of B&W CM10S2 speakers due to them being left over stock, always wanted to have a nice Hi-Fi set up and planned to add bits to it as time goes on.

I'd like to connect the speakers to the TV, PS4 and for music its likely going to be something like Spotify which I would like to stream via say AirPlay. This led me to look at AV receivers, but just to get me started I bought a cheap receiver, Pioneer VSX-831 VSX-831 - 5.2-Channel AV Receiver with MCACC®, built-in Bluetooth® and Wi-Fi®

I realise its nothing special but I'm only a fairly recent University graduate so don't have tonnes to spend in one go but can easily save up for something slightly more high end. Needless to say, I'm not all that impressed with the sound coming out of the speakers, it doesn't sound like anything special currently, all a bit flat. In an audio shop I listened to the smaller 704S2 paired to a Naim Atom which did sound a lot better, I believe my speakers should have no problem out-performing these smaller ones if paired to something decent. This is where I'd like your help!

I've tried trawling through various forums but its all a bit complicated for me and everyone has their own opinion on what's best.
Some models suggested are Classe, Krell, McIntosh...a quick look at a McIntosh showed it costs £18k, way out my price range. I'd look for something at around £1k or less (unless someone advises its worth going for something higher in price which I'm open to, its only a rough budget), maybe an older higher end AVR which I can pick up cheaper now?