1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What to do?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by bjd, Aug 15, 2002.

1. bjd

bjd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +177
    I wonder if I could get some advice? I'm fairly new to HC, and would like to build up a decent sound system. I currently just use the 4 speakers supplied with a Tosh 36Zp using the TV's internal amp.
    I use a Creek amp and Linn Kan speakers for my Hi Fi, so I was wondering what the best option would be. I was thinking of starting with an amp and subwoofer and using the Kans as fronts, but owuld then need a centre and rears eventually.
    Is this the best way to go, and, if so, could anyone recommend a centre and sub to compliment the Kans?
    Any advice and warnings of potential pitfalls appreciated.

Thanks

Brian

2. bjd

bjd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +177
    No-one perpared to offer any advice, then? :(

3. Nobber22

Nobber22

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +109
    Sorry mate. I am unfamiliar with the Kans. I agree that you should try to get a matching centre, maybe another Kan? Hopefully someone who has heard/used Linn speakers can help.:rolleyes: Do you really want to keep the Kans or get a full new set of speakers? Full range or sub-sat? There are lots of good subs out there, depends on budget.

As for an amp, what budget did you have in mind? Do you want to keep the Creek for stereo duties and use a processor for surround like Yamaha DSP800? Maybe get a newer suround amp for all-in-one? Or use a new receiver with the latest surround formats hanging on the back of the Creek?

One thing is for sure, it is time to dump the Tosh speakers and get some new ones.

Lots of questions, hope this is the sort of "first-round reply" you were looking for?:)

4. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: