What to do? Stereo or 5.1??

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Pezerinno, Feb 26, 2005.

1. Pezerinno

Pezerinno

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +69
    Hi, this is going to be quite a long post so bear with me please :)

After going to the Bristol what hi-fi show on Friday it led me thinking what I was going to do next year, I'm a student, so when I say next year I actually mean September. In September I will be moving into my own apartment - I will no longer be sharing which means I will have a lot more space etc. Currently I have a Sharp Aquos LC26GA4E TV with Denon 1910 DVD player and Thomson DHD-4000 freeview PVR - I will be keeping that lot. I listen to all my music through my computer via an audigy 2 ZS sound card, optical toslink cable to some logitech Z-5500 speakers. Because I have an iPod I tend to listen to my music straight from iTunes (128kbps AAC files). I listen to a lot of music - more than I watch TV and DVD's however I tend to listen to it while doing other things - mostly when I'm working on the computer (which is a lot of the time).

Come September I will have my own lounge etc where the TV, DVD and PVR will be placed. My computers will be in the study. I'm planning on spending about £1000 on either a 5.1 system for the movies or a standard stereo system (which I will also attatch to the TV but obviously just have stereo sound). Now as you probably guessed I'm no audiophile (always have a limited budget, listen to music from mp3s through computer speakers :rolleyes: ) so should I get a stereo system or a home cinema system? I was planning on probably buying my stuff second hand so I can get more 'bang for the buck' and I'm guessing I could prob get a pretty healthy stereo system for that number of pennies. I also know that you can't really get good stereo sound from a 5.1 system unless you spend huge amounts of money (of which I don't have).