1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what the fudge Tosh XS32 = No NTSC recording

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Bob Todd, Aug 5, 2004.

  1. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    Had my Tosh since tuesday, but its still in the box as I have not had time to install it.

    I have however read the manual and found it only records in PAL and Secam.

    Does this mean the Tosh wont record an NTSC signal.

    Or does it mean it converts it to PAL?

    If its the latter what is the conversion quality like?
     
  2. apreading

    apreading
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    You are unlikely to get PAL conversion without a proper (separate) convertor and even then it isnt perfect from what I have read. Many devices output PAL60 which is the right number of lines but at the wrong frequency (60Hz instead of 50) so will not record on a PAL device.

    I cannot answer whether the Tosh will record NTSC, but from the manual it would seem clear it doesnt. IF this is important to you then might be worth checking out whether you can return it and get Panny box which will record NTSC.
     
  3. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or a Pioneer which records NTSC and PAL 60.Previous Toshiba's also had recording problems with NTSC
     
  4. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem is now worse than with the XS30. It is possible to record NTSC on both machines. However, on the XS30 a black bar appears on the bottom on the screen. The bar is still there on the XS32 but the picture stutters every 10seconds or so.

    However, isn't this only an issue if you want to pirate R1 dvds? If you want to do this you would be far better off using a dvd drive on a pc to make a copy of the disc retaining dd5.1, menus etc.
     
  5. apreading

    apreading
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    It is also possible that a handful of people have a handful of NTSC videos I guess. We have friends/relatives in the states and we have a VHS which they recorded their camcorder footage of our holiday on to. Isolated case for us, but some people might have similar and more relevent situations.
     
  6. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    <engages anal-retentive mode>

    PAL60 has 525 lines (as NTSC, not "true" PAL which has 625) and a 60 hz field rate (as NTSC, not "true" PAL which is 50hz) but a PAL formatted colour carrier (as PAL, not NTSC).

    <disengages anal-retentive mode>


    or laserdiscs of StarWars (etc).
     
  7. apreading

    apreading
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Very useful - was always a little fuzzy on EXACTLY PAL60 was.
     
  8. Normandy16

    Normandy16
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm Still fuzzy on what exactly "anal-retentive mode " is.
    Probably best not to know! :blush:
     
  9. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    how about backing up old VHS tapes that are NTSC and play in native format on most PAL VHS players.

    A stupid move by Toshiba.
     
  10. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well personally I do not see it as a big deal. If anyone is that bothered about backing up an old ntsc video they could buy the dvd.

    I still maintain the main reason anyone would want to record an ntsc source is to pirate r1 dvds

    and 'backup' is just another word for piracy. The recording of home videos in NTSC is fair comment, but I can not imagine that is something many people would need to do.
     
  11. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    yet many other players have it as a feature :rolleyes:
     
  12. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would rather have it than not and there are other features on other machines I would like the tosh to do. The Tosh is not perfect but I think it is the best currently available.

    I really do not think this issue is a big deal. Each to their own, if it is a big deal buy a different machine.
     
  13. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Although NTSC recording is a feature that will not be important to many people,it is a feature that is missing again from Toshiba.Being able to transfer NTSC VHS tapes to dvd,copying laserdiscs to dvd,recording from NTSC satellite sources,and ,yes,copying NTSC dvd's are all useful (to some) features not possible with Tosh,which is a shame as it's pretty much THE machine of the moment
     
  14. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,203
    Well Toshiba have to leave some of the market share to Panasonic Phelings ;) As you say the RDXS32 is the machine at the moment!
     
  15. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    Im starting to think u sleep with yours, u sick little puppy
    :rotfl:
     
  16. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,203
    :laugh: Shhh - nobody must know!
     
  17. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do agree with you completely. It does seem a strange that Toshiba didn't include it as a feature. I do wish they would get someone from Tosh UK to rewrite the user guide in the next upgrade.
     

Share This Page

Loading...