What the best way to connect to my HD plasma

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii-U & 3DS' started by Rookies, Dec 19, 2006.

  1. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    I have a HD plasma with 2 hdmi port and 1 set of comp.. I believe those are the only options to get the hd option on the wii am i right, but one problem my xbox 360 is connected up to the comp.

    I dont think the RGB would enable the hd setting on the menu will it?
     
  2. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +26
    wii isnt HD mate so not gona luck that great. I would connect via component. as its not HD it wont have any way of connecting via HDMI :mad:
     
  3. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    but when you go into the system menu and tv setting i cant select the bottom option for 480p i guest i got to connect to comp for that?
     
  4. nickp8

    nickp8
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +144
    Yes 480p is via component only.

    Nickp.
     
  5. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +26
    what resolution is 480p ?? 720 x 480 ?
     
  6. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Now i need to find if there is a comp splitter so i can have the xbox 360 and the wii connected at all time so i dont have to keep swapping cables

    Any idea
     
  7. nickp8

    nickp8
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +144
    480p is not technically HD.

    HD is 720p 1080i 1080p.

    Nickp.
     
  8. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Yeah just realised that. But 480p is the best picture quality on it thou aint it if we get it connected right or would it not make much different? Or would RGB be the rout?
     
  9. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    Do you have a spare VGA (d-sub) on your plasma? you can connect the 360 to that. Or do you have 2 component ins on your receiver? (if you have a receiver).
     
  10. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    I do have VGA and have tried it with the xbox and dont like it at all horrible indeed it is. And i only have 1 set on my plasma. Is there any type of splitter do you think?
     
  11. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +713
    Depending on what plasma you have, the internal progressive scan processing may do a better job than the Wii and by using an RGB scart you may have just as good if not better visuals than a 480p component connection.Plasma's do not do 480i as by default they are a progressive scan panal.

    I've got a panny 42PX600,my NTSC gamecube and PS2 look better without turning 480p software mode on so I can use RGB scart to get superb PQ.
     
  12. razbox

    razbox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +77
    Why not plug the Xbox into one of the HDMI slots? I have a spare Xbox-HDMI cable somewhere...
     
  13. shagaboopon

    shagaboopon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +367
    How can you have a xbox to HDMI cable when the 360 only outputs an analogue signal to my knowledge.
     
  14. CFCCFC

    CFCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Ok Forum Brains, here's a question for you: I've just ordered a Toshiba 37WLT68 LCD. It has component or RGB or ordinary non RGB scart input. How am I going to get the best piccie out of my Wii? Sorry if it seems straightforward to you, this is my first ever LCD tv set, and I'm only buying cos my CRT is turning its little toes up.

    Thanks for your help in advance, from a girlie gamer!
     
  15. Lin3ar

    Lin3ar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Find a component cable(if you can)

    This will give you the best picture on your new LCD.

    Next best would be a RGB scart cable and worst is the composite cable that comes with the Wii:thumbsdow :thumbsdow
     
  16. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Did not know there is a HDMI Cable for the xbox though there is not one. But if you have got one I am VERY interested please PM me regarding this Cheers
     
  17. davidcharles

    davidcharles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +283
    Rookies...

    i have both rgb cable and component cable....tbh difference is minimal...both give better colours and crisper text than composite....

    component gives 480p option which does make gamecube games look very good i have to admit...

    if you are only playing wii games then rgb is fine......if your desperate for that few % better picture get a component switch box...
     
  18. Kube

    Kube
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Armagh
    Ratings:
    +369
    I disagree. Have tried composite, RGB and component and on my 32" Dell LCD, the difference between RGB and Component is very clear. Tried Wii Sports and Zelda and there was a good increase on visuals when using component. Composite was obviously the worst out of the lot but RGB on my screen wasnt a huge improvement. Clearer text and clearer visuals but nowhere near the crisp visuals on component. Zelda was a major improvement. Component won hands down.
     
  19. davidcharles

    davidcharles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +283
    I agree to a point.....yes component is better just not as much as i thought....my composite picture wasn't that bad so probably the difference isn't so much compared to other tv's.....

    horses for courses....
     
  20. breadbun

    breadbun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East UK
    Ratings:
    +47
    People seem to be noticing big improvements using component on LCD screens, but I have a plasma and I think the differences are less striking, probably due to plasmas (generally) better handling of non-HD sources. IE. composite doesn't even look "that" bad.... just a thought!
     
  21. avolee

    avolee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +734
    i`m using rgb and to be honest its better than i thought it would be, not used component yet, but bought rgb so i could use it on other tellys in the house as well as my sammy lcd.
     
  22. Lin3ar

    Lin3ar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    I think you might be right.Plasmas do handle non HD feeds/poor feeds better than LCD's.
     
  23. DorKnight

    DorKnight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35

Share This Page

Loading...