1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what sub?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by slamb, Aug 22, 2005.

1. slamb

slamb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,
    i have an nec 61mp1 display, with a pioneer vsx 1014s receiver, marantz dv7000 dvd, snell LCR500's, b&w ds6 surrounds and b&w 601 rears, but no subwoofer can anyone suggest a suitable one? i was thinking of a mission 78as maybe? another question i have is, this is my first attempt at home cinema and i didn't really plan it, i just sort of fell into it! all this equipment apart from the dvd player came from friends selling me their equipment at what seemed like good prices, but i don't know if it will all work well together, particularly the speakers. the snells are 4ohms and need 200w the others are 8ohms and need about 100w. can i run them all off the pioneer which has 7 channels and 120w at 8ohms?
    could anyone explain impedances and watts etc. please?

2. eviljohn2

eviljohn2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +208
  3. slamb

slamb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,
    about £600 i think

4. eviljohn2

eviljohn2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +208
    In that case you should start looking at models from SVS, B&W and Velodyne to at least get you going. :)

5. slamb

slamb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0