• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

What Sub Will my Stereo take. Im new to this

xElliooot

Standard Member
Im in need of a sub for my Panasonic SA-AK25, and have NO CLUE what it can handle without blowing it.
Here is the picture of what it says on the back.
http://obrazki.elektroda.net/20_1256499885.jpg

It currently has the 2 speakers attached with 2 ok subs in it.

I would like to upper the sub, i was wondering what is the MAX sub i can put onto this stereo system.
I also took this picture from the online manual if this is any use : Screenshot by Lightshot

Online Manual : http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPERMANPDF/SCAK25.PDF

MemX

Hello :)

The stereo does not have a dedicated Subwoofer connection on it, so you would have to attempt to link the speaker cables to the inputs of a separate amplifier+subwoofer and hope the impedance change would not affect the internal amplifier for the existing speakers.

Or you would have to buy a new stereo!

Last edited:

spyder viewer

Distinguished Member
You need a S/W with a high level input capability. You can then connect it to either of the speaker outputs or with some suitable resistors, to both.

xElliooot

Standard Member
Hello :)

The stereo does not have a dedicated Subwoofer connection on it, so you would have to attempt to link the speaker cables to the inputs of a separate amplifier+subwoofer and hope the impedance change would not affect the internal amplifier for the existing speakers.

Or you would have to buy a new stereo!
Would you be able to link me to the things what i would need.

Idid not really understand that as im new to electronics.

spyder viewer

Distinguished Member
Welcome to AVForums by the way!

scottthehat

Distinguished Member
What's your budget.

MemX