1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What step down converter to use with a US Receiver?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Tyler Durden, May 5, 2005.

  1. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +265
    I am considering buying a Pioneer VSX1015TXK from the states and would like some advice on what I would need to use it in the UK. Thanks
     
  2. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
  3. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +265
    I have downloaded the manual and it gives the power consumption the following results: 480W, 630VA so it looks like I will need quite a large one!
     
  4. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    How about a power tool transformer such as this:
    http://www.axminster.co.uk/product.asp?pf_id=23256&sfile=1&jump=0

    Widely used with projectors from USA that dont have universal PSU, not sure about a receiver though.

    Dont forget that Engish mains is 50 hz, USA is 60 hz, that might make a difference depending on the PSU in the receiver.

    Good luck,

    Mark.
     
  5. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +265
    I wonder if it is possible to change the PSU in the machine? I have sent the technical department of Pioneer an email asking them if they can help. I have told them I bought the receiver in the states and have recenty moved to the UK.
     

Share This Page

Loading...