What speed should I be getting with the Virgin 20mb service

Discussion in 'Virgin Media Broadband' started by SGH42, May 2, 2007.

  1. SGH42

    SGH42
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Now this has gone up to 20mb should I be getting faster then the results shown below ?


    [​IMG]
     
  2. t1m103

    t1m103
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +191
    looking at the results your getting what i normally get on 10mb,the 20mb has not yet happened in my area yet.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Rygar

    Rygar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +274
    Your result indicates about 10Mb. Try running the test at different times of day, very early hours etc as the speed you are seeing may just be a result of contention (network congestion) during busy times.

    Or another possibility is you think you have been upgraded, but have not been!
     
  4. SGH42

    SGH42
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hmmm, well I've just had my bill & they are charging me from 1/05 at £37, but like you say they don't seem to have upgraded me yet !

    Cheers
    steev
     
  5. t1m103

    t1m103
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +191
  6. SGH42

    SGH42
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Cheers for the link, I'm in Medway, Kent so mines either not on there yet or the nearest to me on the site is Basildon.
    Steve
     
  7. t1m103

    t1m103
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +191
  8. SGH42

    SGH42
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks for that I get 'gill' for Gillingham I guess. I've emailed VM to ask them when my area will be rolled out.

    Thanks
    Steve
     
  9. Steve170

    Steve170
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37
    Has anyone in the Basildon, Essex area seen their speed increase to 20mb yet? According to the Virgin website, the Basildon area has now been completed but I'm still maxing at 10mb. My modem doesn't need upgrading according to the website.
     
  10. badlydrunkboy

    badlydrunkboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damn it, my girlfriends just having this installed in her place in Pompey but 20mb ain't being rolled out till july. Ah well, she is only paying £1.50 a month for it.
     
  11. Bluewolf

    Bluewolf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Even if your area has been upgraded, your modem has to be rebooted to deliver the speed upgrade. Make sure to powercycle it before testing download speeds, and try gamefiles.virginmedia.com (download 2 large files at the same time) as this gives a much truer representation of your connection speed than online speed testers.
     
  12. Steve170

    Steve170
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37
    Cheers. I thought of unplugging the modem and powering up again earlier today and low and behold I can now see speeds in excess of 15 mb, so I guess I've been upgraded. Now you'd think that Virgin might mention the need to unplug the modem on their website?
     
  13. Doctor Smith

    Doctor Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +274

Share This Page

Loading...