1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Speakers with AVR 3805

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by tryst, Jul 7, 2005.

  1. tryst

    tryst
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I am planning for a 3805 and i have Tannoy Mercury speakers with me along with a Velodyne VX-10 sub.Is this set gonna work right or shall i think of some other options ? Please advice me on the cableing issue too.I am confused about the interconnects and speaker cables from vandenhul and monster.Which one is better?

    tryst
     
  2. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    I am using lowly Tannoy Mx's with my 3805, and they sound ok to me. The 3805 is a smooth laid back amp compared to my old Sony. That combination tended to sound a little harsh at high volumes. The upgrade has shown the amp to be the reason not my speakers.
     
  3. tryst

    tryst
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Thanks for your advice.How do you recommend Klipsch or B&W 6 series as a combination with 3805.

    tryst
     
  4. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    I can't! Never heard either combination though the B&W's should be a configuration common enough to to find other users. In all honesty, unless you have unlimited resouces to buy and try two or three, I would get your amp and use your existing speakers. Take a little time to choose their replacements by auditioning. You should have no problems finding a decent retailer who will help you out. In the end what I like might not sound too clever to you!

    p.s. My speakers were the ones placed below the Mercury's before Tannoy combined the two.
     
  5. frustin

    frustin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had the tannoy MX series for mine, i now have the Kef KHT6000's and my god is there a difference! (in price as well :) )
     
  6. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    I use three Kef KHT9000ACE's for the fronts and two Kef KHT5005's for the rears due to limited space, and cash, and they sound and look fantastic IMHO.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  7. White_Nemesis

    White_Nemesis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the set-up shown below and am very pleased with the sound :thumbsup:
    I auditioned a number of sub / sat combos but there is no substitute for good sized floor standers up front. The Aelite 3 go deep and handle all the serious music listening, the sub is for movies and certainly shakes the furniture (without boomimg!) :D
    But everyone is different and each room adds something to the overall effect, so the best advise alway is, find a good retailer and get some speaker combos in and just listen!
     
  8. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Also make sure your crossover settings are all in place to make sure you arn't missing any sound.

    I think the KHT KEFs only go down to around 120-150. So whant to make sure the sub is set to cover the rest.
     
  9. frustin

    frustin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you are using the kht6000 with the "bass extender" stands, then the range is supposed to be 75Hz - 30kHz.

    I set my cross-over to 80hz and everything sounds good.
     
  10. rmask

    rmask
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +4
    triangle esprit series, if you dont mind the price:)
     
  11. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hang on your aren't actually changing the speaker itsalf, the stand is just picking up weak low frequencies and making them more noticabile.

    The speaker still has the same frequency range as before. The stand just helps with the frequncies it can't deliver.
     
  12. frustin

    frustin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes, so if it helps with the frequencies it cant deliver, therefore making them delivered, theres no point in getting the sub to take them on.

    besides which; i wasnt disputing that. i was just copying and pasting what it said in the spec.
     
  13. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Well thats a big risk. You could damge the amp or speakers by trying to feed a signal that they can't really handle themselves.
     
  14. frustin

    frustin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont understand. By setting the crossover to 80hz and the spec says they will go down to 75hz, were is the risk? Granted, if i set the crossover to the next notch down I'd be inclinde to agree but not when the spec says they'll go that low.
     

Share This Page

Loading...