1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHat software do you have on DVD3800?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by magking, Sep 19, 2002.

  1. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    What sofware are on your Denon DVD3800?
    Just want to know what versions that are out there.

    Press PLAY and OPEN/CLOSE on the player as you power it on. Pressing DISPLAY on the remote then shows:
    ESS720
    on mine, and pressing MENU on the remote shows:
    ESS6134-2
    PANEL6093-2
    DRV6100
    on each subsequent press

    If anyone know anything about PAL-P on this player, post it here.
    Thanks
     
  2. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    My hi-fi dealer has lent me two players to test:
    Arcam FMJ DV27
    Denon 3800

    Both are set for PAL progressive, the Denon 3800 had it's firmware updated by their Denon rep yesterday (it's the very latest firmware as of 19-Nov-02)

    Progressive PAL is very impressive on both these machines.

    Anyway to answer your question:

    Display:
    ESS720

    Menu:
    PANEL 6093
    DRIVE 6100
    ESS 625p

    Still making up my mind, but I think I'm going to go for the Arcam FMJ DV27 player; the PAL progressive picture is sharper and clearer and therefore more detailed than 3800.

    StooMonster
     
  3. churchwa

    churchwa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Magking,

    Who is your dealer as I am in the market for a 3800 and want to be sure i can get the latest firmware. Also is it multi region?

    Many thanks
     
  4. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    The Denon 3800 was indeed multi-region as well as PAL progressive; thought that went without saying.

    Dealer:
    Soundcraft Hi-Fi Ltd
    40 High Street
    ASHFORD
    Kent
    TN24 8TE
    t: 01233 624 441
    f: 01233 640 333
    e: sales@soundcrafthifi.com
    Soundcraft Hi-Fi

    StooMonster
     
  5. buzlightyear

    buzlightyear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    945
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +116
    Well i got mine about 1 month ago with
    ESS 720
    DRV6100
    ESS34625p
    Panel 6093-2

    I think mine has a newer chipset (poss chroma free) out the box
    Mine is Multiregion,PAL-P,chroma free (as far as im aware),


    ESS720

    Menu:
    PANEL 6093
    DRIVE 6100
    ESS 625p


    Im pretty sure, cheking back on the other links that Firmware was floating about from "The thing wnn" and many others on this forum, about 2 months ago ..which came from the states, which then messed up your machine until you patched it with another one (getting techie i know :D ) or am i getting confused with all the other patches. So is Denon now using Firmware which it said was not offical :D

    Dont flame me on this but what denon rep was that?
     
  6. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +86
    ESS 720N
    DRV 6100
    ESS 34625p
    Panel 6093-2

    Bought a couple of months ago, multiregion and PAL-P, works like a charm so far - no problems with any discs at all.
     
  7. Jan_Assembler

    Jan_Assembler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got also this beauty today.... Finally...

    ESS 720N
    ESS 34625p
    PANEL 6093-2
    DRV 6193-2


    JKT
     
  8. KT66

    KT66
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The firmware of my DVD3800:

    Display:
    ESS 720N

    Menu:
    DRV 6193-2
    ESS 34625p
    PANEL 6093-2


    :D Jan :D
     
  9. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a phone call from my dealer this morning - my 3800 had arrived and he was about to MR/PalP it.


    He rang an hour or so later, saying the Denon Rep had rang him, and he was bringing a new version over on Friday.

    I'll be picking up the player Saturday all being well and I'll post the version
     
  10. alpha10

    alpha10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +192
    Any news on what firmware version you got Graham?

    Mine arrived yesterday with


    ESS 720N
    ESS 34625P
    Panel 6093-2
    DRV 6193-2

    It would be nice to know if this is the latest version or not?

    Cheers
     
  11. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haven't had chance I'm afraid. The wife went in hospital Friday night so I just haven't had the time. picked up the player and plugged it - watch LOTR disc1 and thats pretty much it.

    tried to watch disc 2 last night but it wouldn't load - loads ok on my other player tho.

    I'll try and remember to take the "how to" home and get the versions nos.
     
  12. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Hi chaps,

    Just got my replacement player today...

    I will post firmware versions for pre and post firmware update later tonight...once I've had a play

    The player is November 2002 build date, machine number 1167

    I have aksed denon to confirm chroma bug and laser pickup fix status from my serial number (if they admit to either :D)

    Keep you posted...

    JJ
     
  13. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    ok, default firmware levels with the player out of the box as region 2 are:

    ESS A30N
    DRV 6193-2
    ESS 6134-4
    PANEL 6093-2

    Haven't had chance to upgrade the firmware with the latest MR & PAL-P yet as the player appears to have a fault with the AV1 scart socket - has anyone else seen problems with the AV1 Scart socket when set to RGB causing lots of horizontal interference type lines scrolling down the screen??? tried several different scart leads and put my old player back in with RGB fine???

    Oh well...back to denon then...will have to wait to see what the new player has before and after firmware upgrade...

    The wait goes on :(

    JJ
     
  14. GaryG

    GaryG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +2

    Would you be so kind as to tell me which of the two has the best interlaced picture via the component outputs (I already have a decent scaler and have no use for the progressive output).

    Thanks
     
  15. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    RGB problem sorted see other thread:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=61893

    Therefore, upgraded firmware using Dec firmware and now have the following firmware levels:

    Pre Dec Firmware Upgrade (vanilla Region2):

    ESS A30N
    DRV 6193-2
    ESS 6134-4
    PANEL 6093-2

    Post Dec Fimrware Upgrade

    ESS 720N
    DRV 6193-2
    ESS 34625P
    PANEL 6093-2

    i.e. the same as versions as everyone else with reasonably recent players.

    Having spoken to denon I am pretty sure that the PANEL 6093-2 idicates the chroma bug fix. (Dec firmware doesn't alter this, it only adds MR and PAL-P)

    JJ
     
  16. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    p.s. CD replay and DVD-A...............WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D
     
  17. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +86
    I'm not so sure about this. As I have posted before, my August build (serial 959) 3800 has the following MR PAL-P versions:

    ESS720N
    DRV6100
    ESS34625P
    PANEL6093-2

    I have applied the latest Dec firmware but the DRV6100 does not change and I still have the chroma bug. I therefore think the DRV6193-2 is somehow related to the new laser assembly, as my pre-1000 serial number machine would have the old laser if the rumours are true.
     
  18. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Carl -

    ok..maybe not ;) (so much of this is guess work!!!), it is just that denon mentioned "a panel fix" when I was speaking to them re the chroma bug...maybe it is the DRV 6193-2 bit???? (or both?)

    Most newer players do seem to have this DRV 6193-2 irrespective of whether they have been upgraded with the Dec firmware, so you may be correct...

    Denon did say that if you still have the chroma bug then they are happy to ship a specific chroma bug fix fimware disk to your dealer. However, they claim this will put the player back to region 2 - so you may need to re-upgrade the firmware with MR firmware. Maybe you can talk to your delaer about this...

    If you can get the disk, give it a go and keep me posted re levels

    JJ
     
  19. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    p.s. petes has the same firmware levels as you and he has applied the US chroma fix and then the dec firmware - his machine seems to be chroma bug free with the same firmware levels as you...i.e. DRV 6100

    ...confused...:)

    JJ
     
  20. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +86
    Thanks for all that info! Where is the detail from PeteS about his firmware, I may give it a go - or I may wimp out and get Denon to send a chroma disk to my dealer, then just run the upgrade again.
     
  21. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +86
    I've just tried the US Chroma fix and then re-applied the Dec MR fix on top. Chroma bug is still there so it hasn't worked for me.

    Maybe I'll try Denon and see if they can send a disk to my dealer.
     
  22. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    peteS - can you comment please????

    JJ
     
  23. peteS

    peteS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Morning Guys

    I think it's the ESS 34625P which represents the chroma fix - this was 625P before applying the US chroma fix disk if memory serves me correctly.

    I haven't tried this of late - due to the regions of the disks which I have - but I seem to remember reading in another thread a comment from somone that the chroma fix was only for region 1 disks. When I tested it, the samples I looked at were on region 1 disks, and so all was fine and dandy. I'll try and have another dig around and see if I can come up with anything else.

    To be honest though, I've been so delighted with the picture I get on my Pana plasma with my 3800 that I've been mostly watching movies of late rather than fiddling around - and that's got to be a good sign! :)
     
  24. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +86
    Pete, Jason

    The only reason I notice the chroma bug is that my 2yr old is hooked on Disney's Snow White (R1 Platinum) at the moment. I have watched it so many times that I notice all the little faults.

    With 95% of material (and mine is over 400 R1 and about 20 R2 discs) I don't have problems.

    Snow White is bad, along with Disney's Beauty and the Beast. Animation tends to show the fault more, with its strong colours and sharp delineations. I also notice it heavily on the menu screen of Resident Evil, as it is mainly bright red with lots of text.

    In Snow White, the bit I keep noticing is at the start when the Queen give her Huntsman a box for SW's heart. The box approaches the camera on an angle and you can clearly see evidence of the bug all around the edges, ruining fine detail. When I switch the 3800 to interlaced output it is super smooth, but then I lose 2:3 pulldown as my Panasonic is a model 4.

    Hmmm, I have mailed Denon so I guess I'll have to wait and see.

    Thanks everyone in the meantime, you're all most helpful.
     

Share This Page

Loading...