What Socket A - DDR Mainboard?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by minimivic, Aug 12, 2001.

  1. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    I'm looking at building another PC for Home office and HTPC, will also have to do LAN Network gaming.<br />Not ideal I know but its not a big problem. Will probably do a duel boot system. What O/S Shall I use for this. Got ME, 98, and 2000 available.

    Going to use a 1.4 Ghz Athlon 266 FSB, not sure what Board to go for:<br />Asus A7A 266 with the ALi chipset..or<br />Asus A7V 266 with Via Chipset..or<br />Abit ? ....or Anyother suggestions welcome.

    What experience and views have you got on this one.

    My Abit KT7A-Raid has served me well for the above, but I want to go a bit further ahead. <br />I Know a P3 would be better for a HTPC, maybe do a dedicated HTPC later in the year if needed.
     
  2. Dan_K

    Dan_K
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only use Win2k for my main PC and networking works a treat...since the release of SP2 duel boot hasn't been so much of a neccesity since Win2k now outperforms and outclasses all other OS's (even on games)...

    As for a good DDR motherboard a would avoid any Ali based chipset since DDR performance is substandard and stability is not guranteed...a seriously good motherboard at the minute is the Epox EP-8K7A+ with its AMD 760 Northbridge and VIA VT82C686B Southbridge...memory perfomance is top notch and I can personally vouch for this boards stability (even at 155fsb I couldn't get it to crash <img src="wink.gif" border="0"> )...

    If you're looking for a vanilla motherboard then the ASUS A7V266 (VIA KT266 chipset) is probably your best bet at the minute...not to flashy but superlative performance and stability are guranteed...only problem is its a bit pricey but you gets what you pay for I guess...
     
  3. overlord

    overlord
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +14
    Check aria.co.uk for best priced DDR boards in uk<br />ELITE K7AMA ALI chipset for £63 inc vat & ELITE K7S5A SIS 735 chipset for £61 inc vat.
     
  4. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    Now running:<br />Asus A7V266 DDR M/Board with 1.4 Ghz athlon.<br />G-Force 2 GTS 64 meg pro, 512 meg DDR ram, Sonic fury, etc, etc,<br />O/S is now Windows XP and it rocks. very stable and user friendly. Custom resolutions are fine with Powerstrip. DVD playback is good with both WinDVD and power DVD ( no stutters yet ).<br />Just havent tried digital output on sound card yet.<br />Anyone else using XP. Seems very good to me. Havent bothered with the VIA drivers ( usually the problems with athlon baords )dosent seem to need them.<br />I'll keep you posted.
     
  5. Big Jim

    Big Jim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hang on 5 mins for the Nvidia Nforce boards such as the Asus A7N266 (i think - have a look at the following posts)

    <a href="http://www.theinquirer.net/06090103.htm" target="_blank">The Inquirer on Nforce performance</a><br /><a href="http://www.theinquirer.net/050901117.htm" target="_blank">re. Asus board</a>

    With all the goodies - decent video, 5.1 sound (with a riser card), integrated LAN it could be a very nice (and cheap) way of getting a machine going. Wait for a couple of reviews to see how the driver situation is looking before you buy though.

    I would go Win 2000 sp2 - much the best choice at the moment.

    cheers,
     
  6. Blade

    Blade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the Asus A7M with a 1.4Athlon 266FSB and 512MB of DDR Ram. Love it, nice and fast. Win2K as standard.
     
  7. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi Jim,

    Win 2000 SP2 is good, so far I think XP is better.<br />Also most of the win2000 drivers and software work on XP, it seems faster and easier to use than 2000. Interface is a bit funky but you get used to it.

    Nforce should be good, second PC? Good excuse to try 1.
     
  8. Big Jim

    Big Jim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sharky,

    If you like it, go with it!

    It should be better, but I would be inclined to let lots of other people do the open beta testing....

    I have been on a win2k server course this week, and all the (mainly prehipheral) features that didn't quite work properly pre-sp1 is a bit of an eye opener. Mind you with a standard build and not doing anything to random I'm sure you will be fine with XP.

    Have Fun!

    [ 07-09-2001: Message edited by: Big Jim ]</p>
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice