1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Socket A - DDR Mainboard?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by minimivic, Aug 12, 2001.

  1. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    I'm looking at building another PC for Home office and HTPC, will also have to do LAN Network gaming.<br />Not ideal I know but its not a big problem. Will probably do a duel boot system. What O/S Shall I use for this. Got ME, 98, and 2000 available.

    Going to use a 1.4 Ghz Athlon 266 FSB, not sure what Board to go for:<br />Asus A7A 266 with the ALi chipset..or<br />Asus A7V 266 with Via Chipset..or<br />Abit ? ....or Anyother suggestions welcome.

    What experience and views have you got on this one.

    My Abit KT7A-Raid has served me well for the above, but I want to go a bit further ahead. <br />I Know a P3 would be better for a HTPC, maybe do a dedicated HTPC later in the year if needed.
     
  2. Dan_K

    Dan_K
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only use Win2k for my main PC and networking works a treat...since the release of SP2 duel boot hasn't been so much of a neccesity since Win2k now outperforms and outclasses all other OS's (even on games)...

    As for a good DDR motherboard a would avoid any Ali based chipset since DDR performance is substandard and stability is not guranteed...a seriously good motherboard at the minute is the Epox EP-8K7A+ with its AMD 760 Northbridge and VIA VT82C686B Southbridge...memory perfomance is top notch and I can personally vouch for this boards stability (even at 155fsb I couldn't get it to crash <img src="wink.gif" border="0"> )...

    If you're looking for a vanilla motherboard then the ASUS A7V266 (VIA KT266 chipset) is probably your best bet at the minute...not to flashy but superlative performance and stability are guranteed...only problem is its a bit pricey but you gets what you pay for I guess...
     
  3. overlord

    overlord
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +14
    Check aria.co.uk for best priced DDR boards in uk<br />ELITE K7AMA ALI chipset for £63 inc vat & ELITE K7S5A SIS 735 chipset for £61 inc vat.
     
  4. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    Now running:<br />Asus A7V266 DDR M/Board with 1.4 Ghz athlon.<br />G-Force 2 GTS 64 meg pro, 512 meg DDR ram, Sonic fury, etc, etc,<br />O/S is now Windows XP and it rocks. very stable and user friendly. Custom resolutions are fine with Powerstrip. DVD playback is good with both WinDVD and power DVD ( no stutters yet ).<br />Just havent tried digital output on sound card yet.<br />Anyone else using XP. Seems very good to me. Havent bothered with the VIA drivers ( usually the problems with athlon baords )dosent seem to need them.<br />I'll keep you posted.
     
  5. Big Jim

    Big Jim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hang on 5 mins for the Nvidia Nforce boards such as the Asus A7N266 (i think - have a look at the following posts)

    <a href="http://www.theinquirer.net/06090103.htm" target="_blank">The Inquirer on Nforce performance</a><br /><a href="http://www.theinquirer.net/050901117.htm" target="_blank">re. Asus board</a>

    With all the goodies - decent video, 5.1 sound (with a riser card), integrated LAN it could be a very nice (and cheap) way of getting a machine going. Wait for a couple of reviews to see how the driver situation is looking before you buy though.

    I would go Win 2000 sp2 - much the best choice at the moment.

    cheers,
     
  6. Blade

    Blade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the Asus A7M with a 1.4Athlon 266FSB and 512MB of DDR Ram. Love it, nice and fast. Win2K as standard.
     
  7. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi Jim,

    Win 2000 SP2 is good, so far I think XP is better.<br />Also most of the win2000 drivers and software work on XP, it seems faster and easier to use than 2000. Interface is a bit funky but you get used to it.

    Nforce should be good, second PC? Good excuse to try 1.
     
  8. Big Jim

    Big Jim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sharky,

    If you like it, go with it!

    It should be better, but I would be inclined to let lots of other people do the open beta testing....

    I have been on a win2k server course this week, and all the (mainly prehipheral) features that didn't quite work properly pre-sp1 is a bit of an eye opener. Mind you with a standard build and not doing anything to random I'm sure you will be fine with XP.

    Have Fun!

    [ 07-09-2001: Message edited by: Big Jim ]</p>
     

Share This Page

Loading...