1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What size screen do I need?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by spiderv6, Feb 6, 2003.

1. spiderv6

spiderv6
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm very new to the world of projectors but I've decided I'm going to buy one. Probably a Sony HS10.

What I can't work out is how do I know what size screen to buy :rolleyes: .

I need a 16:9 screen (right?) but does it need to be an exact size based on my room dimensions, or, can the projector adjust the picture size to fit whatever screen I have?

Thanks in advance!

2. theritz

theritz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi spiderv6, welcome to the forums.

The size of screen is a function primarily of the distance you intend to have between the projectior and the screen - referred to as "throw distance". If you go to projectorcentral.com and check the specs for the Sony HS10, you will find an icon which will bring you to a throw distance calculator. If you enter the throw distance, it will tell you the size of image you will get. There is normally a range of sizes shown, which are dependent on the amount of zoom used - minimum zoom would be recommended by most here, for the best picture quality.

You haven't indicated whether you intend to use this in your living room, or in a dedicated movie room - you need to give some consideration to the positioning of the projector, as well as the screen, to have a chance of them "fitting" with the room.

Good luck,

Sean G.

Edit: Yip, you'd need a 16:9 screen !

3. spiderv6

spiderv6
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Sean,

A 6.1m distance gives me a screen size of H 1.6m-2.0m and W 2.9m - 3.6m. Wow!!