1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what shalll i buy

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by scuggy, May 2, 2005.

1. scuggy

scuggy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi every one
    i`m a complete noob to all of this,i`ve just completed my home cinema room(5mx2.8m)with a max throw of 4m on to a wall of 2.4m width, there is no ambient daylight into the room, the walls are painted cream and i have borrowed an infocus lp530 (2000ansi and 400:1 ratio) from work just to see what hapens, I was stuned at the results considering it was on a vinyl silk white emulsion wall
    I have about £1200 to spend on a full set up including sound and video and will be mainly using it for dvd`s and the occasional computer use and a bit of xbox.could anyone point me in the right direction on what to buy,i have priced the toshiba and epson cheapies and are considering these, or should i go for something else, no one seeems to mention benq or acer which i can find on the net with a high spec at low cost, Is there aproblem with these makes, I realy need some direction as an entry level enthusiast, all replys appreciated.

thanks Scuggy :lease:

2. krlock2

krlock2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    lots of choices... check out www.projectorcentral.com as it is a good place to look at the top rated projectors by budget. i would personally also consider the panasonic ae700 and the sanyo z3..... good luck

3. stripe

stripe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +123
    Your probably better looking at something like an Epson TW10h at about 600, as these get a great write up for the price, and getting something like a Denon DHT500SD DVD Home cinema systems about £420 from superfi, a screen, DRH do good screens fairly cheaply £105 - £150 and a spend the rest of the cash on cables.

Good luck with it