1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What server software do you use?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by nathsea, Apr 8, 2005.

  1. nathsea

    nathsea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Hi,

    Just wondering what everybody has in their setups at home?

    I currently have an old Duron 900(i think!) running sme server stuck up in the loft playing serving all of my music and acting as a general fileserver for the rest of my stuff. It has been running great since I set it up, and only had to reset it once as I had mucked around with the network:nono: .

    Nathan
     
  2. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    Sme?
     
  3. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    None at home but NW4.11SP9 at work
     
  4. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    I'm really going to start to look thick here but

    NW4.11SP9 ?
     
  5. nathsea

    nathsea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    it is a linux server solution - costs nothing, and is so easy to install on any old pc that even I can use it!!

    www.contribs.org

    have a look

    Nathan
     
  6. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Novell Netware by any chance?
     
  7. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Of course - what else can you use on a PC server?
    9 year up times are good (not ours BTW - too many power cuts!)
     
  8. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    I remember the first NW sErver I sold, 386 25Mz with not a lot of HD and of course, it'll never get filled :D

    Steve
     
  9. jameson_uk

    jameson_uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +579
    Debian (Sarge).
     
  10. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    I just use plain old win XP pro to run my media server. It supplies DVD and music to 2 other PCs around the house. Not had any problems with it so far.
     

Share This Page

Loading...